Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Thread: Rebel XTi

Rebel XTi

I'm fairly new to digital SLR's. I have a Rebel XTi. It worked great during football season outdoor at my kids games but indoor pictures don't come out good at all. I'm sure it a user error. I have found myself going back to my point and shoot digital camera when indoors. Is there something I am doing wrong with the SLR indoors? A lot of the pictures come out dark. Do I need a different lense? I currently have the kit lense. I'm going to NYC in a few weeks and really want to take the SLR but am afraid my pictures won't turn out. We are going to the wax museum which is indoors. I know we will take a lot of pictures there. I'm tempted to take the old point and shoot with me. Any suggestions?

Well, you can crank the ISO a little, but 800 and up tends to look a bit bad on the XTi. The kit lens isn't terribly special for this kind of work. You might look into a lens with a larger aperture, say a f/2.8 fixed - it will provide a lot more light at higher shutter speeds and a lower ISO, making for much better low-light pictures.

I'll let experienced XTi users advise you as to settings and such.
    Nikon D40 + kit lens

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 D AF(...or not)

what mode are you shooting in ? are you using the onboard flash ? the range of these onboards are very limiting, that could be one problem. the xti can shoot pretty comfortably at iso800 if you're not blowing up to like an 11x14.
    D800e l V3 l AW1 l 16-35 l 35 l 50 l 85 l 105 l EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75
    flickr