Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Error mesage 999 on a G3?

    Hi

    I have a G3 - for ages now, if in 'auto' mode, on the part of the top LCD where it should say how many shots remaining on the card, it always says 999.

    If any another mode, it's fine.

    Rang Canon but their offshore call centre staff didn't understand. I spoke to a local camera store, they said it's an error message but couldn't help beyond that.

    As far as I know the camera itself is fine.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by _Andy_ View Post
    Hi

    I have a G3 - for ages now, if in 'auto' mode, on the part of the top LCD where it should say how many shots remaining on the card, it always says 999.

    If any another mode, it's fine.

    Rang Canon but their offshore call centre staff didn't understand. I spoke to a local camera store, they said it's an error message but couldn't help beyond that.

    As far as I know the camera itself is fine.

    Thanks
    Is it possible you just have a large card and you set the quality/resolution settings for Auto to something really low giving you thousands of remaining photos?
    Canon EOS 40D | Pro1 | EOS 630 (film) | S2 IS | G1
    EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | EF 50mm f/1.4 | EF 70-200 f/4 L | 580EX II

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Thanks

    Many thanks - spot on.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,162
    LOL, a 4 gig card with the resolution set for 640X480 at normal quality.

    Insted of saying 999 it should just say ∞
    My camera gear Found on e-bay.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post
    LOL, a 4 gig card with the resolution set for 640X480 at normal quality.

    Insted of saying 999 it should just say ?
    It should say 999+. You don't have infinite photos. ;)
    Canon EOS 40D | Pro1 | EOS 630 (film) | S2 IS | G1
    EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | EF 50mm f/1.4 | EF 70-200 f/4 L | 580EX II

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,162
    Quote Originally Posted by Forced Perfect View Post
    It should say 999+. You don't have infinite photos.
    lol, i know but still.

    Can you imagine 4 gigs with 640X480 at normal resolution?

    Think about what you said thouh, if its gone say 999+ they just added another digit. so if they are going out of their way to put the + why not just add another digit?
    My camera gear Found on e-bay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •