PDA

View Full Version : New User and New Camera Photo

BlueGrassGirl
03-21-2005, 01:53 PM
I am a new user and this is my first post so please go easy on me...

I am not a professional photographer by any means. However, I am interested in learning the basics of good photography and portrait photography specifically babies and children. I am also interested in learning about football and other outdoor sports/action shots.

I took this photo with a Kodak dx6490
I'm not sure of all the settings. It was in PASM mode/bw/ no flash. I am not familiar yet with all of the manual setting terms.

I am looking for constructive feedback for my photos and how I can take better photos.

jamison55
03-21-2005, 02:41 PM
Hey BlueGrassGirl, welcome to the forum!

I think you should be really happy with this picture! You captured a great expression, the subject is plenty sharp, with a nicely blurred background, the background adds to the subject without being distracting.

If I had any suggestions, they would be nit-picky (because the picture is beautiful as it is!), but here goes: The spot of sun on the side of his face is a little distracting, next time turn him a little more to your right so that the shadow disappears - or - turn on your flash to make his entire face as bright as the shadow (that will have the added benefit of adding little sparkles to his eyes). If you are really brave, turn him so that his back is to the sun completely and turn on the flash. The strong backlight will produce a dreamy "halo" effect around him, while the flash fills in his face. As for PS, I always add a little extra contrast to B&W shots (+10 should do it) to add some extra punch.

Welcome again, and keep posting your beautiful pictures.

D70FAN
03-21-2005, 03:03 PM
I am a new user and this is my first post so please go easy on me...