PDA

View Full Version : Battery lifetimes in practice

MJP
08-15-2004, 01:48 PM
Iím considering buying a digital camera. I have no experience with battery-powered cameras (my current one is a completely manual Pentax K-1000).

My travels often (well, sometimes) take me away from mains power (or battery shops) for a couple of weeks at a time, during which I might take four or five rolls of film. With a digital camera, I would expect that to increase to, letís say, 500 pictures. How many spare batteries would I have to take? How reliable/meaningful are manufacturersí estimates of battery lifetimes?

This could constrain my purchasing decision. I quite fancy a Coolpix 5700 or comparable, but an extra $200 on spare batteries (which seem to cost 50% more here in the UK than the US) would blow them out of my price range.

By my calculations, proprietary Li batteries cost about 5 times as much as NiMH ones, for the same capacity (if Iíve converted mAh to Wh correctly). Should I just forget cameras which donít take AAs?

I know this is a rather vague question, but any advice would be appreciated.

Martin

Rhys
08-15-2004, 02:21 PM
Iím considering buying a digital camera. I have no experience with battery-powered cameras (my current one is a completely manual Pentax K-1000).

My travels often (well, sometimes) take me away from mains power (or battery shops) for a couple of weeks at a time, during which I might take four or five rolls of film. With a digital camera, I would expect that to increase to, letís say, 500 pictures. How many spare batteries would I have to take? How reliable/meaningful are manufacturersí estimates of battery lifetimes?

This could constrain my purchasing decision. I quite fancy a Coolpix 5700 or comparable, but an extra $200 on spare batteries (which seem to cost 50% more here in the UK than the US) would blow them out of my price range.