PDA

View Full Version : who is responsible for AF?

TeddTucker
02-11-2009, 02:02 PM
I read a lot of reviews of lenses and bodies and it leaves me wonder who handles the Auto Focus for a picture (lens or body or both)? Could someone explain this to me?

Thanks

adam75south
02-11-2009, 04:06 PM
the answer is they work together.

tedd, i'm no expert, but then again, we're on a forum and this is what happens when you ask general public a question haha.

here goes. the lens has it's own autofocus motor, the camera tells the motor where to go and when to stop. some lens' motors are slower than others...some cameras take longer to decide where the motor needs to go and when to stop.

Rasidel Slika
02-11-2009, 05:16 PM
I'll give my 2 cents, I was shooting indoors with a friend's 40D once with the 17-85 and it SUCKED, it was hunting around like mad, pretty much unusable. I put his 85mm 1.8 on and it was gold. Awesome performance. This is why I was asking about lenses in the other thread - I think it's definitely important.

cdifoto
02-11-2009, 05:25 PM
Lens lets light hit AF sensors, AF sensors tell lens how much to move. Lens does the moving.

Mark_48
02-11-2009, 05:29 PM
Compare it to MF. With manual focus you are provided with information through the viewfinder and your hand turns the focus ring accordingly to achieve the clearest image you can. Your brain does the decision making and your hand makes it happen.

AF is not much different. The processor brains in the camera takes information from contrast sensors in the camera and sends commands to the lens AF motor to make focus adjustments until the camera sensor thinks it's correctly focused.

Rooz
02-11-2009, 05:37 PM