PDA

View Full Version : Horizontal banding a common problem w/ XXDs?



droopy1592
01-17-2009, 02:56 PM
I love my XSi, it just doesn't behave when focusing. So, I go buy a 50D thinking i would have better luck with focusing (I do!) and enjoy the extra features but I have visible horizontal banding down to iso 400 (dpp and LR) where the xsi I have I can push iso1600 to 3200 and not show even a trace of banding even in the worst shadows. I do more research and see that it's not a rare issue even back to the 20Ds. It's going back for an exchange, but should I even bother? I take hundreds of photos in poor lighting and to go through each shot with a debanding plugin(dfine) like some advise (and just deal with the problem, apparently) is too much of a hassle when I think paying a thousand bucks for a camera should involve a quality product. If the replacement I get has banding issues I think I might throw in the towel, either deal with my xsi's shortcomings... Or perhaps be more extreme and do the unthinkable. is it too much to ask for a camera to work the way it's intended to? I can't post samples because I'm out of town and all ihave is my iphone, but I aasure you, same shot same lens, my xsi will miss focus half of the time while my 50d provides enough banding so as to not make my xsi feel inadequate.

Any advice?

Rooz
01-17-2009, 03:46 PM
i've never done any research on it, but i dont think its a common problem is it ? Nick shoots at hi iso alot and i havent noticed it in his shots, doesnt he have a 20d and 50d ? i have shot a fair but with a 40d and never noticed any banding. are you sure you're not being too picky bro ? 3200 is not really within the optimum working zone of any APS-C dslr.

nevertheless...advice ?
1. get it exchanged for peace of mind, otherwise you'll always be wondering
2. if you get it back and its still a problem and you want to stick with Canon, get a MkII
3. talk to your better half and make the inevitable move. :p

nothing will kill your love of photography more than persisting with a camera that wont do what you want it to do. so within reason, dont accept anything but a fully working camera that meets your needs.

droopy1592
01-17-2009, 03:59 PM
It bands as low as 400. It's just ridiculous at ISO 3200

cdifoto
01-17-2009, 04:45 PM
Trade you for my banding-less 10D. Straight up. I'll even throw in a 16MB CF card.

Rooz
01-17-2009, 06:08 PM
thats a fault then mate. get it exchanged and keep yer chin up buddy.

Nickcanada
01-18-2009, 12:44 PM
hmmm, I haven't noticed banding... well at 3200 there is a bit and above there is a lot but even ISO 1600 I haven't noticed any.

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k162/nickandaline/IMG_0948-2.jpg

I guess if it was there you would see it on the left of the frame on the wall.....

TenD
01-18-2009, 03:15 PM
hmmm, I haven't noticed banding... well at 3200 there is a bit and above there is a lot but even ISO 1600 I haven't noticed any.


I guess if it was there you would see it on the left of the frame on the wall.....

I can see it on the side of the printer there, I didn't notice it at first, but if I adjusted my angle a little it showed up. It shows up just below the a star decal on the filing cab too.

edit:
I usually can't see the banding unless someone coaches me. I tend to look at photos for the photo instead of the technical details within that photo. In other words, unless it's ugly, I won't see it, unless I specifically look for it.

droopy1592
01-18-2009, 05:36 PM
I've reviewed tons of my xsi high ISO shots and I couldn't find banding in them even if you offered a reward for it. Even ones pushed 1 to 2 stops. I find banding as low as ISO 400 on the 50d which is unacceptable. Amazon is sending a replacement. I'll let u guys know the results.

shoey
01-19-2009, 04:30 AM
I've seen quite a lot of banding happenning on the 50D at higher ISO's. I suppose it's a trade off from having the higher MP count. Have you tried any noise reduction?

Nickcanada
01-19-2009, 05:35 AM
I can see it on the side of the printer there, I didn't notice it at first, but if I adjusted my angle a little it showed up. It shows up just below the a star decal on the filing cab too.

edit:
I usually can't see the banding unless someone coaches me. I tend to look at photos for the photo instead of the technical details within that photo. In other words, unless it's ugly, I won't see it, unless I specifically look for it.

Hmmm, I don't see it.... it might be my cheap monitor. I'll have to do some prints.

faisal
01-19-2009, 06:15 AM
I see it if I copy the pictures to CS3 and use the highlights/shadows tool on it...so I suppose it depends on what brightness setting your monitor is set at!!

michaelb
01-19-2009, 06:53 AM
I can see it on the side of the printer there, I didn't notice it at first, but if I adjusted my angle a little it showed up. It shows up just below the a star decal on the filing cab too.



I wouldn't have noticed it if you hadn't pointed it out; I had to change the angle of my laptop to even see it.

Droopy - do you have any samples? I'd be curious to see them.

droopy1592
01-19-2009, 07:20 AM
I wouldn't have noticed it if you hadn't pointed it out; I had to change the angle of my laptop to even see it.

Droopy - do you have any samples? I'd be curious to see them.

Sorry. Can't copy and paste links on my iPhone. I'm in DC right now.

Shoey, NR doesn't do a thing.

droopy1592
01-19-2009, 09:05 AM
got a friends comp for a sec

here are two examples, but i have more at home I can't get access too. They are not quite 100% crops but they are close... the dog shot is the upper right corner and the neck shot is the bottom center.

One at ISO 3200 and one at 2500 I believe. I'll do more tests at home, but the banding is so bad I could see it in my previews on the on-camera LCD in the shots I took in the smithsonian, all the way down to ISO 1000 in some cases.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3353/3200267610_243227c451.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3080/3199429215_678c2d0070.jpg

Some of the shots you can see it even in well exposed areas down to iso 400

michaelb
01-20-2009, 06:40 PM
To be honest I wouldn't find that objectionable, considering they are nearly 100% crops. I'd like to see some more samples though.

droopy1592
01-21-2009, 06:42 AM
It's more noticeable in print rather than up close

michaelb
01-21-2009, 10:17 AM
It's more noticeable in print rather than up close

That would definitely bother me.

droopy1592
01-21-2009, 03:31 PM
After testing I found that all 3 cameras have banding! (XSi, 50d, replacement 50D) I almost want to see if it's just a canon thing and screw with my wife's camera. I guess I just have to deal with it. I'm so used to the 50ds proper focusing now that I have to let the xsi go, although it's banding isn't as pronounced as the 50d.

I can't win!

I'm through complaining

droopy1592
01-21-2009, 03:45 PM
I know this is a strange shot but it induces banding on all of the canons in the house but my wife's D90 handles this @ ISO 6400 with no banding in sight and even pushed to 12800 there's no banding to be found. This shot is just at ISO 1600 on the 50D and the XSi just barely looks better.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3096/3216632124_5d8ff2819f_o.jpg

michaelb
01-21-2009, 06:15 PM
I've never noticed any banding with my 40D or 5D, although I must admit that I'm not really a high ISO shooter.

cdifoto
01-21-2009, 06:55 PM
My 10D swap offer still stands. :D

te1221
01-26-2009, 11:43 AM
I had banding on my 5D, but now it's been taken care of by the latest firmware update. Did you check your firmware to make sure its updated? Even though there werent any addressed issues, it may be something worth checking out.

Nickcanada
01-26-2009, 02:39 PM
I had banding on my 5D, but now it's been taken care of by the latest firmware update. Did you check your firmware to make sure its updated? Even though there werent any addressed issues, it may be something worth checking out.

Any before and after samples?

te1221
01-26-2009, 05:18 PM
Any before and after samples?

I dont have any from after I performed the firmware update but I do have a shot from before. It's not safe for work so I'm making it a link instead.

It was very noticeable in shots that were underexposed.

Not safe for work. (http://www.timeng.net/photos/linda/lingerie/IMG_5734.JPG)

cdifoto
01-26-2009, 05:51 PM
I can't see banding in a 600x900px image.

droopy1592
01-26-2009, 06:01 PM
whatcha got going on in the living room Tim?

te1221
01-26-2009, 06:17 PM
http://www.timeng.net/photos/5d/IMG_5744.JPG

Here's where it is more apparent in the shadows. I used DPP to brighten it by .6 of a stop. I never had a problem with adjusting underexposure with any other camera, but this one seems to have it.

I've taken a few other test shots since the new firmware update and I dont seem to experience the problem anymore, but I am not shooting in the same conditions as that night. I'm going to keep shooting with it over the next few days before I report back.

te1221
01-26-2009, 06:19 PM
whatcha got going on in the living room Tim?

A friend I havent seen in a long time offered to model. Instead of meeting up for dinner or a drink, we just shoot :)