PDA

View Full Version : Looking for comments re: D90 lens and case

Gasbull12
10-23-2008, 06:21 PM
I long ago was a film SLR owner and enjoyed that camera. I got into digital with a Panasonic FZ 10 Ultrazoom. However, I've lately gotten the itch for a DSLR and feel that the D90 has the capabilities I'm looking for.

I have two simple questions that are on the margin. Because I plan to primarily use the kit lens, I believe that a holster type case would work well for me much of the time. (Battery life is so good anymore that carrying the charger hardly seems necessary.) But I have no knowledge of brands/quality etc., and have not found any locally. I see a number on line, esp on e bay but I have no way to ensure quality or fit. Can anyone can recommend a particular brand or size, or source or otherwise comment on my idea of a holster case. I noticed that Don Shapp had what appeared to be a nice one in one of his photos on this forum.

Second, I like to take family photos, often indoors. I have an interest in a faster lens for that. I see the low cost 50mm 1.8 lens frequently recommended. However, my prior SLR experience suggests that, with the 1.5x factor, this may be a longer lens than what would be useful. I wonder if the 50 mm lens isn't largely a carry over from the wide use of 50's on film cameras? Would the Nikon 35mm 2.0 lens be better suited to my indoor family portrait use. Because it is triple the price I would appreciate any informed comments/suggestions on that -- would the 35mm be better for my purpose? Will I likely benefit from either of these lenses, or will the kit lens be everything I need for amateur family photos.

Actaeon
10-23-2008, 06:27 PM
I think 50mm on a 1.5x crop is pretty good for portraits.

I find 50mm on my FX sensor to be difficult for portraits as it makes my subjects a little nervous to get within 2 feet of their face to fill the frame.