PDA

View Full Version : Need help changing my mind on D40/D50

JustLikeYou
10-09-2008, 06:12 PM
Hey guys! I'm newly registered, but I've been luring on these forums for quite a while now. I have a question that I hope some of you can help me with. Sorry if this gets a little long, I just like to include a lot of information to get the best responses.

As a little bit of background, I'm a college student (5th year running on a bachelor's degree... I gotta stop changing my mind!) and was a former Photography major before I changed to Graphic Design. Don't laugh, but for 5 years I used a hand-me-down manual Pentax K1000 from the 1970's! It was a trooper and really got me through many years of great photography :)

Anyhow, being that I have a love for photography in my heart, but also being a poor college student, I had to look at the lower end DSLR's to buy. I was looking at the Nikons and bought the D40, even though it lacked some features I was looking for. One thing that I completely overlooked was the auto-bracketing feature, which I use for photographing products for the family business and such (I use a friend's Rebel which *does* have it).

I bought the D40 kit for $380 off a reputable website as a used "demo unit", but it is in PERFECT shape. I noticed today on the website they also have a used "demo" D50 for $400. My question is... for someone who has intermediate experience, and who will be taking a WIDE range of photography (landscape, abstract, studio, sports, etc) for school, pleasure, and a little business.... is it worth the time and the extra $20 to switch out for the D50? I plan on buying a lot of different lenses (too bad the old Pentax fisheye, telephoto and wide-angle lenses are on their last legs, or I'd buy their DSLR). And do you think, being semi-serious as I am, I would miss those features not on the D40?