PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question: Sensor dust or other?

WestCoast
08-17-2008, 03:16 PM
So, I've noticed artifacts in my recent (over the past month or so) photographs. There are four dark, circular smudges near the top center of some of my photos in an approximate diamond pattern, an example of which can be seen here...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3132/2772057448_a05d29feae_b.jpg

These appear with both my 18-55 mm and 70-300 mm lenses and tend to be seen more at lower focal lengths, so I'm pretty sure that it has something to do with the sensor. I looked back at some of my older photos with light-colored backgrounds in this region and either see just one of the splotches or none at all.

Sensor dust is the first thing that comes to mind, although I find it odd that these artifacts are so circular. One would think that dust would be more irregularly-shaped, although I'm not an expert in this. I was thinking that it could be from dried salts left over from condensation but, again, I don't know much about this.

DownByFive
08-17-2008, 03:33 PM
looks like sensor dust to me...my guess is that this photo was taken at a fairly small aperture. As the aperture gets smaller, the dust will grow more pronounced and it's shape will be more well-defined. At larger apertures, say up to f/5.6, it's generally unnoticeable.

WestCoast
08-17-2008, 03:46 PM
Yeah it's at f/8. I didn't know about that relationship, but it makes sense. Thanks.

K1W1
08-17-2008, 04:21 PM
+2 on sensor dust.
Take the lens off open the mirror and give it a blow of fresh clean air and all will be well again.

imagesbyjudd
08-20-2008, 11:10 PM