PDA

View Full Version : less expensive Macro for jewelry Nikon D50

Diamondguy61
07-07-2008, 09:32 AM
I'm a novice camera guy and have purchased a Nikon D50 to take some pictures of jewelry for a catalog and some web shots. I want to get a macro lense but am unclear what to buy. I saw a lense at a camera store Nikon 105 VR Macro lens for $900 and thought "whoa, slow down." there got to be something a little more afordable if I use a tri-pod. The other problem I have is the metal is so reflective and I want to diffuse it if I can and still get a clear shot. I'd like to be able to blow up these pictures for signs/posters too. Any suggestions.

DonSchap
07-07-2008, 09:44 AM
Just as a suggestion, you might consider the TAMRON SP AF 90mm f/2.8 Di 1:1 MACRO (http://www.photozone.de/Reviews/Canon%20EOS%20Lens%20Tests/45-canon-eos-aps-c/282-tamron-af-90mm-f28-di-sp-macro-test-report--review) (<- click on this link for a review) for around $400, after rebate. Sounds like that is more in your price range and the results should be precisely what you want, without breaking the bank.

Diamondguy61
07-07-2008, 10:12 AM
Just as a suggestion, you might consider the TAMRON SP AF 90mm f/2.8 Di 1:1 MACRO (http://www.photozone.de/Reviews/Canon%20EOS%20Lens%20Tests/45-canon-eos-aps-c/282-tamron-af-90mm-f28-di-sp-macro-test-report--review) (<- click on this link for a review) for around $400, after rebate. Sounds like that is more in your price range and the results should be precisely what you want, without breaking the bank.

OK, this is good. I didnít realize that I could buy another brand other than Nikon. Like I said, Iím a novice, so when answering my question donít be afraid to spell it out for me. Are there other lens brands that are good also with the same parameters as the Nikon 105 VR Macro?

TheWengler
07-07-2008, 10:55 AM
There's also the Sigma 105mm f/2.8 macro and I think Nikon has a 60mm macro lens too. Neither is stabilized though.

e_dawg
07-07-2008, 11:04 AM