PDA

View Full Version : D300 firmware update available



K1W1
07-01-2008, 04:49 PM
Windows version click here (http://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nikoneurope_en.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=25158&p_created=1213797567&p_sid=YY4pNE7j&p_accessibility=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MTA2JnBfcHJvZHM9JnBfY2F0cz02NDgmcF9wdj0 mcF9jdj0xLjY0OCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXBlPWFuc3dlcnMuc2Vhc mNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1).

Mac version click here (http://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nikoneurope_en.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=25161&p_created=1213798767&p_sid=YY4pNE7j&p_accessibility=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MTA2JnBfcHJvZHM9JnBfY2F0cz02NDgmcF9wdj0 mcF9jdj0xLjY0OCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXBlPWFuc3dlcnMuc2Vhc mNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1).


There is also a D3 update but based on other threads all D3 owners will probably be jumping out of high windows now so I won't bother posting links.

josef
07-01-2008, 04:54 PM
thanks for the notice.. i'm always scared of firmware updates though.. If everything seems to be working properly, i worried the update may mess things up.. lol ;)

swgod98
07-01-2008, 05:07 PM
I've had a firmware update ruin a motherboard :mad: I'm afraid of them too! :o

But, definitely, thank you for the heads up!!!

Edit: Aw crap, the first line of this firmware update basically describes the problem I've been having! Battery indicator blinking regardless of battery power. I guess I'll have to give it a go :)

And if it ruins the camera, I'll go buy a D700 :)

imagesbyjudd
07-01-2008, 08:27 PM
SW,
Nikon sends their love :)

swgod98
07-01-2008, 11:15 PM
SW,
Nikon sends their love :)

:D I updated firmware B and it went well. Then updated A (not sure why I did it in that order), but it wouldn't do it! :eek:

I sorta freaked out for a bit, but realized it was flashing super fast "can't update firmware with this battery."

So, I charged the battery and it was good to go :)

phew

I think I'm going to avoid firmware updates unless they offer D3 ISO performance. Or, an extra 4 fps in burst mode. Or, maybe if it turns AF lenses into AF-S lenses when attached. You know, something like that :D

Rooz
07-01-2008, 11:29 PM
ok dumb question...how do you actually get the update from your PC to your camera ?

K1W1
07-02-2008, 12:20 AM
ok dumb question...how do you actually get the update from your PC to your camera ?

I'm not sure I should talk to you anymore but for the benefit of other people who may be too lazy to follow links or are just curious.

You download the file to your PC then you can either connect the camera to the PC using the cable supplied with the camera or copy the file to a storage card and insert that in the camera and you then run the update firmware option on your camera.

ssil2000
07-02-2008, 02:12 AM
hehe leave him alone he will soon have 2 rubbish cameras...

K1W1
07-02-2008, 02:19 AM
hehe leave him alone he will soon have 2 rubbish cameras...


Good point, he'll probably have a addition to his collection of rubbish lenses as well and an extra rubbish Speedlight. :D

Rooz,

All is forgiven. Sorry for calling you a Bitch, I'll withdraw my fingernails from your forehead now because I have come to understand that there are some people in the world for whom NAS is simply incurable and we should all attempt to help those people rather than criticise them so post me the D300 to take the temptation away and lets get on with things.

Rooz
07-02-2008, 02:31 AM
lol, can you fly up and do it for me ? :p

Rooz
07-02-2008, 02:35 AM
I have come to understand that there are some people in the world for whom NAS is simply incurable and we should all attempt to help those people rather than criticise them so post me the D300 to take the temptation away and lets get on with things.

well...when you think about it...considering i was going to grab a D3 next year, the d700 has actually saved me $2k. :p:D

T06
07-02-2008, 03:24 AM
well...when you think about it...considering i was going to grab a D3 next year, the d700 has actually saved me $2k. :p:D

Stuff it, I'm going 3X, here before Xmas!!;)

Rooz
07-02-2008, 03:46 AM
is this the bit where i get to say "i told ya so" kev ?
d3 sensor...d300 body. not bad eh ?

herc182
07-02-2008, 06:22 AM
for those that are interested:

http://sportsphotoguy.com/overclock-your-nikon-d300/

8fps without a battery grip!

Rooz
07-02-2008, 06:48 AM
whats interesting about that is that it was first advised that the battery could not drive it at that speed and needed extra power from the grip. that is now proved false. ie: those greedy bastards wanted us to buy the grip.

herc182
07-02-2008, 06:59 AM
yeah but i guess the point is that you can only do it for 9 frames....assume the buffer in the D300 can take more than that (Which it would with the battery grip).

how dare you suggest Nikon dont love us :(

LR Max
07-02-2008, 07:12 AM
Most interesting. My friend was having a problem with this when his battery grip was attached. I used said battery grip once and had a similar problem.

Anyone else having this problem when the battery grip is attached?