PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Sensor Dust

Admiral_Cecil
09-27-2007, 08:50 PM
Hello,

I've been using my D80 for about 4 months. My lens is the Nikon 18-135mm.

Recently I noticed a light spec at the top left of my photos when I take pictures of a sky or a white wall for example. And, it is in the same spot.

Is this a dust on the sensor? How do I remove it? I did use the rocket blower, but that only got rid of dust on the mirror and when I shine a light on the sensor there appears to be nothing.

P.S.: See the circled image. Ignore all the other dots as they are from the wall.

Rooz
09-27-2007, 11:46 PM
what do you mean it got rid of dust on the mirror ? :confused: you should be using mirror lock to clean the sensor which will flip the mirror up and expose the sensor for cleaning. if you can still see the mirror you aren;t cleaning anything.

for what it's worth that looks like a pretty big blob and almsot looks too teranslucent to be dust which is normally a bit darker. are you sure it isn;t a smudge on your lens glass ? check front and back elements.

Rooz
09-27-2007, 11:47 PM
btw can you resize the image to 800px wide. its far too big and is stretching the screen.

erichlund
09-27-2007, 11:51 PM
First of all, if you have a day with a clear blue sky, I find that works better than a wall, as skies don't usually have specks, at least not clear skies.

Secondly, what f number are you seeing this speck at? If you are already at f16 or higher, then you might even choose to ignore it for now, because it's not too severe. If you are at f4, then take the same shot at f16 and it will become much clearer.

If the rocket blower didn't get rid of the spec, then you want to try one of the dry removal techniques. If you do a search on the web you'll find lots of good advice. I've been using a product called Dust-aid, and I've gotten decent results. There are LOTS of products.