PDA

View Full Version : Ideas Needed

r3g
09-27-2007, 12:49 AM
Ok so this saterday Ive been called upon to set up a database of player IDs for a basketball camp (thats the easy part). The hard part is on the side though I will be able to take general pictures which is good because parents love to buy pictures. My problem is 1. I dont have the equipment to print on site, and 2. being a college student I dont have the money for a Smugmug account to sale pictures from.

So my question is.. What would be a good way to go about selling my pictures? I know this may be a bit of a duh type of question but I want/need reassurance from people who are experienced in this sort of thing. Keep in mind this will be my first time selling photos at an event.

PS - If it helps any I do have business cards.

TheObiJuan
09-27-2007, 03:57 AM
If you are not prepared, don't do it.
If you can not reasonably offer the best you could do, why would you risk it?
Do you know any local photogs from which you may rent a printer?

Do you own a website domain? If so, how knowledgeable are you at setting it up?
You could establish your own paypal linked gallery.

If you don't have a website you may have to bite down and purchase an online account to market yourself. I do not see a reasonable alternative.

I wish you luck with your endeavor.

urfslam
09-27-2007, 05:21 AM
Why don't you burn DVDs with the pictures on them? You probably couldn't charge as much for a printed pictures but your overhead would be the dvds. Then the parents could do what they wanted with the pictures.

Urf

tcadwall
09-27-2007, 06:38 AM
Well, a couple of things.

1) risk and reward.