PDA

View Full Version : using my sb600 as remote



mattc
09-25-2007, 11:36 AM
im having trouble syncing it up i set the flash to the twisty arrow and it still wont fire i thouhgt my d40x had the ability to trigger it? or am i mistaken here.

tcadwall
09-25-2007, 11:53 AM
D50 doesn't have the ability. I don't think D40 does either... Wait... I'll look it up.

Nope don't think it does.

You would be looking for "Commander Mode" Thom Hogan's Compare sheet indicates it is a feature missing on the D40 and D40X

mattc
09-25-2007, 11:56 AM
ok thanks thats what i figured thought id double check

rawpaw18
09-25-2007, 12:49 PM
The SB800 could be triggered by your onboard flash, but you have to use your cameras flash to make it fire.

mattc
09-25-2007, 01:15 PM
i believe you have to use your camera's flash regardless tho. thats ok im upgrading shortly so i'll keep my 600

rawpaw18
09-25-2007, 01:32 PM
The d70's 80's and up have a commander mode built into the camera where you do not have to use the onboard flash to trigger. What are you upgrading, if you don't mind me asking?

XaiLo
09-25-2007, 01:41 PM
There's also the Nikon SU-800 Speedlight Commander.

rawpaw18
09-25-2007, 01:54 PM
There's also the Nikon SU-800 Speedlight Commander.

True, but at $250 I would buy a SB800 with commander built in. Seems there are always options, just depends on what you want to spend.

mattc
09-25-2007, 02:06 PM
The d70's 80's and up have a commander mode built into the camera where you do not have to use the onboard flash to trigger. What are you upgrading, if you don't mind me asking?
i will be upgrading to the d300 when it arrives

rawpaw18
09-25-2007, 02:18 PM
Sweet, I am not on the list yet. I was waiting for B&H to take preorders for the D300. That is going to be an awesome upgrade for the both of us.