PDA

View Full Version : 50mm f1.8 question

SUITEFREAK
09-14-2007, 02:18 AM
Hi all,
I'm totally new to the world of dslr and Nikon. I'm sure if I read through the whole manual and the entire d80 digital field guide I'll eventually find the answers to my question, but I want to get started shooting now. So please help me.
I am trying to use my Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens, however, in AF mode when I go to take a shot, the green focus light is lit, but in the bottom it keeps flashing F-- and in the lower right corner it says [r11] when I press othe shutter. When I am not pressing the shutter it says [1.0]k. :confused: What am I doing wrong? :confused:I tried to take some shots in manual mode and it would only work when it's set to M. (But the pictures are coming out all black -- no matter how I set the aperture.) If it's in A,S, P -- any other mode other than M, I get the same message and no shot is taken. I tried unlocking the aperture ring and relocking it -- same result. HELP!! I am not a total noncompoop. I am reading Digital Photography and Understanding exposure, so I know there is a huge learning curve and alot I have to learn. (And I want to learn!) I was just really surprised this lens isn't working for me. I have a Nkon d80.
BTW, would any of you recommend any of the dvds that are out there to get you started using your d80 right away? They show you all the features, etc. Just wondering if it'll make it easier...
Thanks!

achuang
09-14-2007, 02:48 AM