PDA

View Full Version : Bounce flash question

accord2003
09-04-2007, 12:11 PM
Hello

I have lurking for awhile. I have decided to try out the SLR world. I purchased an used D70s to start. All I have a 50mm F1.8. It seems to be the lens to start from what I gather here.

I do have on question. I am hoping for some advice. I am going to be in a kid birthday party soon. It is in a big hall. I figured I will probably need a flash. I am going to purchase a SB600. I have read using a bounce flash will give better lighting. That said, what happens if the hall is say "20 feet" high. Do I need to change any settings or a bounce flash will not work in this case.

I know this is probably a noob question but I am slowly learning my way through .

p.s. if anyone has some experience in this type of situation, please give.

thanks to all.

Paradox
09-04-2007, 12:56 PM
Well I'm new to flash, but from what I know if the roof is 20 feet heigh, the light has to travel 40 feet to go there and back to your subject. Taking into account absorption and reflection from surfaces, unless you have an incredibly powerful flash, no the light won't make any difference.

erichlund
09-04-2007, 01:05 PM
Your real problem will be having enough power. Flash effectiveness drops dramatically with increased range from your subject. When you increase that range by bouncing the flash off the ceiling (think about it, it will come to you), you may reach a point where the flash is firing at full power and it's still not enough. With a very high ceiling, you may want to consider pointing the flash at a close wall, or directly at your subject using a diffuser. The SB-800 comes with a diffuser, but you would have to purchase one separately with the SB-600. There are several types, and you should discuss this more with your dealer.