PDA

View Full Version : What do I do wrong with Nikon D40?

CNC
09-03-2007, 06:38 AM
Hy everybody.

I am new in DCRP forum and new in the dslr photography. My Previous camera was PS A610, so I am comfortable with some fotographic terms.

Hier is my question: in M-mode I choose every parameter to expose a picture properly myself: ISO, shutter, aperture. I pont the camera to a sunny bright sky (but still "very" blue) and fokus but do not schoot, I then point the camera down to a tree with the prefocused camera and make a shot of the tree. The tree is underexposed. OK. I understand, the with the settings I made I produce an underexposed tree. second shot and this is the place whre I do not understand what happens: same settings as before, with no changes from the previous shot I aim at the same tree, focus and shoot. The Tree is now prperly exposed. Why ist that?Same settings, differnet results...

thank you in advance!

Rooz
09-03-2007, 06:52 AM
can you post some examples pls. at first glance it sounds like metering. the first time it metered off the sky and the second it metered off the tree. actually re-reading your post...you said you were shooting in M mode and didnt change anything...so maybe it isn;t metering after all. (you dont have to focus to meter btw).

try moving into a constant light source that won;t change and try again. maybe the light just got better at the time you were shooting ?

tcadwall
09-03-2007, 11:34 AM
So you think you set everything Manual... But did you really?:eek:

Tip: double-check. Look at the EXIF information for the photos. I bet you the ISO setting is different