PDA

View Full Version : Night Picture... Please Help

paintballknight07
08-26-2007, 07:06 PM
I am trying to take a picture of the moon with my nikon d40 with a 70-300mm zoom lens. When I focus on the moon I can see the ridges and the detail and they are perfect, but when I take the picture, it is just a white circle. How do I get it to show the detail that I see in the viewfinder? Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks

jcon
08-26-2007, 07:12 PM
Examples with EXIF would help ALOT. The blown out moon means your aperture is too low, and or your shutter is too low. I dont shoot moon shots anymore(since I sold Pana FZ20) but you need a mid to high aperture to get the detail and not have a blown out moon.

Again samples would really help.

paintballknight07
08-26-2007, 07:14 PM
how do you add photos and the information file? (I am very new to photography and this site)

Rooz
08-26-2007, 07:28 PM
I am trying to take a picture of the moon with my nikon d40 with a 70-300mm zoom lens. When I focus on the moon I can see the ridges and the detail and they are perfect, but when I take the picture, it is just a white circle. How do I get it to show the detail that I see in the viewfinder? Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks

white blob is the most common error in moon shots.
use the following setting:

Manual mode
iso100
-0.3EV
spot metering
Sunlight WB
aperture between f7.1-f11
shutter speed between 1/125s and 1/350s

the aperture and shutter speed will depend on the phase of the moon. so i recommend you start by using f8 1/125s. take the shot, preview it by zooming in on your cams LCD. if it is too bright then keep increasing the shutter speed until you retain the detail you are after. remember it is better to underexpsose a little than overexpose when it comes to moon shots.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1016/743067877_c08f083a5e_o.jpg

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1285/648381601_344e621a53_o.jpg

paintballknight07
08-26-2007, 07:49 PM