PDA

View Full Version : sb600 vs sb800

dxrocnxj
08-23-2007, 04:07 AM
i'm gonna buy on of the two, i wouldnt mind saving the difference money between the two either. i'm a college student so budget is always a bit tighter than everyone elses.

any input?

Rooz
08-23-2007, 04:19 AM
what will you be using it for ?

dxrocnxj
08-23-2007, 04:23 AM
indoor, dark, low light rooms for concerts/ shows.
possibly some outdoor work, but not as much.

dxrocnxj
08-23-2007, 04:35 AM
http://a888.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/98/l_de154ab144af6970788bd173f60fb9bf.jpg

this type of environment.
haha thats me with my face in the mic.
my friend shot this with a 350D (dont remember what flash but he said $400)and i get astonished with his results all the time.

Rooz
08-23-2007, 04:44 AM
the sb600 will do the job well but the sb800 will do the job VERY well. the power output is pretty huge on the sb800. plus it has the gel filter pack and diffuser included in the kit, can act as your off camera flash commander, (since the d40 doesnt have commander mode), has the 5th battery for better battery life and faster recycling time and has a great LCD screen for adjustability. theres also a few other features it has that i never use but you may find handy.

dxrocnxj
08-23-2007, 04:54 AM
yeah i was just reading on the two and i think it was ken rockwell who said that the 800 has features no one really boters with, but it does help to know what they are. i went to the photo shop by my house yesterday and the clerk reccomended the promaster dx7500 2.0 for $230 and he said it really will go step by step with the sb800

K1W1
08-23-2007, 05:50 AM
Thom Hogan has a good spec comparison chart here (http://www.bythom.com/flashcompare.htm). At least you can see all the numbers side by side.

uncleskull
08-23-2007, 12:52 PM
Since you are on a somewhat limited budget, suggest you start with the SB600.

As you progress and feel the need for an additional flash, then you could add the SB800.