PDA

View Full Version : Nikon 70mm-200mm lens

anco85
08-08-2007, 01:11 AM
Hi guys.

After a pretty heavy discussion on why NOT to get the d40 in the "which camera" forum, I decided to go and test out the d40 at a retailer yesterday.

The d40 + kit lens goes for roughly $700 here, but they do however sell a double kit lens setup which includes the kitty and a 70mm-200mm nikon lens for roughlly $900

Im pretty new to slr'ng so I know sweet blow all about lenses.

What is a 70mm-200mm lens used for and is this particular one any good?

Thanx in advance
Anco

fionndruinne
08-08-2007, 01:45 AM
Well, a 70-200mm lens is a telephoto lens, meaning it offers more reach, to get you up close to the action. The D40's kit lens, on the other hand, is from 18mm, called wide angle, which captures a lot of the scene, to 55mm, considered just on the edge of telephoto zoom.

But I've not heard of a Nikon 70-200mm lens for this kind of price. Are you sure it's made by Nikon (their lenses are called Nikkor)? Sounds suspiciously like a cheap telephoto (such as Quantaray) for a Nikon mount, rather than a genuine Nikkor lens.

Or, perhaps you are thinking of a 55-200mm lens? I know the D40 is offered with a two-lens kit, made up of the kit lens plus a 55-200mm AF-S Nikkor. If this is the case with what you're looking at, this lens will probably be the older Nikkor version without a handy thing called VR, which is Vibration Reduction, or anti-shake stabilization. I'd advise against it! There's a better 55-200mm Nikkor lens newly out, one with VR, for only about $50-$75 more than the one without VR. Why's this important? Well, with a telephoto lens, when shooting with the camera in your hand, the enhanced zoom power of the lens is going to "magnify" any shaking your hand might do, resulting in blurry pictures much more commonly than when you're shooting with the kit lens.

Rooz
08-08-2007, 01:45 AM