PDA

View Full Version : Nikon D40 lens help!!!!

filip
08-04-2007, 07:47 PM
HI All,
I would really need some help here, and I would need it as fast as possible.
I am in NY for just one more day and I want to buy a good macro lens for my Nikon D40. Now, I have really no clue about macro lenses, but from what I understood there are only a few choices...
I have found that 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor is a good lens but it has no autofocus on my D40.
The AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm F2.8G IF-ED looks like a great lens but it is a bit expensive.
Someone said the Tamron SP 90mm f/2.8 Di 1:1 AF Macro Auto Focus Lens is also very good, but I don't know if it is compatible with my camera...probably won't AF either.
What do you suggest me? Is there something else? I would appreatiate any short or quick anser :) or longer if you have time :)
I don't know if I really need autofocus and if it is that important, but I am a complete novice to SLR...
Thank you all...
Best regards
Filip

Rooz
08-04-2007, 08:51 PM
sigma 150mm f2.8 HSM. one of the best long range macro lens' on the market and a little cheaper than the nikkor, plus more range. (no VR though).the tamron will not AF on the d40.

filip
08-10-2007, 06:10 PM
thanks for the advie, but is it possible that no one else doesn't want to waste a minute to give me an opinion???

fionndruinne
08-10-2007, 06:21 PM
It is possible to shoot macro without autofocus, in fact fairly easy, but that's up to you. I'm not very knowledgeable in macro lenses, but your best bet will probably be a Sigma with the HSM (hypersonic motor, compatible with the D40), such as the one Rooz recommended.

Rooz
08-10-2007, 06:27 PM
thanks for the advie, but is it possible that no one else doesn't want to waste a minute to give me an opinion???