PDA

View Full Version : D40x w/Tamron of D80 w/kit lens?

nycgolfer
08-01-2007, 11:55 AM
Hey guys, a newbie here. Iím looking to get my first digital SLR and wondering whether you guys think itís better to get a D40x body with a Tamron 17-50/2.8 lens or getting a D80 with the kit lens? Any thoughts and opinions are appreciated

r3g
08-01-2007, 12:13 PM
Definitely go for the D80

SantaCruz
08-01-2007, 12:25 PM
I currently have both on a 'trial' basis, one to be returned. Glass aside, size difference between the two is significant. The D80 has more dedicated buttons for things like ISO, white balance, etc. Easier to make changes 'on the fly' without having to get into menu's, etc. Picture quality is excellent on both. More accessories available for the D80 as well. I would say, if you don't care about size, like to tweak settings on the fly and plan on future expansion get the D80. If you want a smaller, lighter, more straight forward shooting experience (use auto a lot), get the D40x. This doesn't come close to covering all the differences in the two but, as usual, JMHO...

Ray Schnoor
08-01-2007, 01:29 PM
Hey guys, a newbie here. Iím looking to get my first digital SLR and wondering whether you guys think itís better to get a D40x body with a Tamron 17-50/2.8 lens or getting a D80 with the kit lens? Any thoughts and opinions are appreciated
In case you were not aware, the Tamron lens you list will not auto-focus on the D40x. I do believe that Sigma is coming out with a similar lens (http://www.sigma-photo.co.jp/english/news/070725_1850_1770_na.htm) which will auto-focus on the D40x, though. It is not yet available, though. I would personally go with the D80.

Ray.

mugsisme
08-01-2007, 01:37 PM
Hey guys, a newbie here. Iím looking to get my first digital SLR