PDA

View Full Version : Annoyances and D40x vs D80

SantaCruz
07-28-2007, 12:27 PM
Hello, this is my first foray into the Nikon DSLR arena so be gentle... :D

About me: I've been shooting for over 30 years and fall into the 'enthusiast' category (at best). I recently got the bug to upgrade my point-and-shoot 3MP camera. I have a Nikon FE and 5-6 lenses I've had since new but rarely use it anymore. Digital photography just suits my needs much better nowadays. I've been looking at new cameras for some months now and my 'wish list' did nothing but lead me down a gauntlet of foibles concluding in, 'there is no such camera' (yet). Cutting to the chase... I've been shooting w/a new Nikon D40x for about a week now and am considering upgrading to the D80 for a few reasons. I'm hoping you fine folks can help me separate fact from fallacy.

My reasoning for the upgrade is based on a few annoyances I'm finding w/the D40x. What I'm hoping to learn is what are your annoyances, or pet peeves with your D40/D40x and D80. Reading reviews (ad nauseum) helps but real users with long term experience is better. To start, I'll state my primary issue(s) and will the D80 better address them.

D40x Annoyances:
Exposure compensation: I do it a lot... At night, I absolutely do not want the rear LCD to light up. The information I need is displayed in the viewfinder and all the LCD does is effectively blind me while attempting to keep my eye in the viewfinder. No apparent way to keep it from coming on while doing EC. The same applies for timer and flash buttons. At night this is a real annoyance. Can you limit these indications to the top LCD only on the D80? It appears so but need real-user input.