PDA

View Full Version : Star Trail photography

rgen
07-26-2007, 10:50 AM
Hello

i am fairly new to SLR and I have been trying to do some star photography. In particular, i wish to create some star trails. Unfortunately I am not able to get the camera to take the shot. Here is what I have tried so far:

1). Tripod, remote and set camera to Manual.
2). Set A to F11 and Set S = bulb
3). focus on an object near infinity.
4). change it to MF
5). move the camera to the stars
6). press remote

The camera will not take the shot. I have tested the remote and it is fine indoors.

I have been able to take a moon shot but not the stars.

Note: i was using a 24-75 Nikon Lens. It was set at 24mm.

Am I missing a step or a camera setting somewhere. thanks.

colemanr
07-26-2007, 11:04 AM
You have to tell the camera to use the remote. See page 36-38 in the manual for the different options to do that, but the gist is that you need to hit the single/continuous/self-timer/remote button on the top of the camera until the right icon comes up.

Hope that helps,
Rob

rgen
07-26-2007, 11:09 AM
You have to tell the camera to use the remote. See page 36-38 in the manual for the different options to do that, but the gist is that you need to hit the single/continuous/self-timer/remote button on the top of the camera until the right icon comes up.

Hope that helps,
Rob

thanks for the reply. Yes I did set it to use the remote. I also tried it without the remote. it seems to be trying to focus even though it is on MF. I tried turning the camera off as well as reconnecting the len.

hmm. perhaps it the lens itself. :

colemanr
07-26-2007, 01:56 PM
When you flip the switch on the camera to manual focus, the AF-A, AF-S, AF-C indicators should all disappear from the camera's top screen. Are any of those still being displayed?