PDA

View Full Version : need DSLR for shooting paintings/ low light

kmistin
06-26-2007, 11:45 AM
Hi, Iím an artist (painter) needing to buy a DSLR to use for two primary purposes:
1. shooting my artwork Ė for years I shot slides of my work with my old film SLR and tungsten lights. I prefer to shoot with tungsten rather than daylight because it is constant; so I need something that can work with that. Accurate color is a must.
2. low light/night landscape photography.

I donít need a lot of bells and whistles. I have no experience with digital SLR's only with film slr's and digital point and shoot

Budget

hoping for under $2000, including lens. I donít anticipate needing more than one lens, a standard one ( 50mm? 35mm?Ölens recommendations also much appreciated here)

Size

preferably a lighter weight model. Iím a small person and big cameras make my neck sore.

Features

8-10 mega pixels ( ?)
zoom not so important
Image quality, manual controls important

General Usage

see above
Prints : YES I need to be able to make images for publication
indoor photos or low light photos? YES

sports and/or action photos? NO
Miscellaneous

Been looking at the Canon EOS 30D, and 20D Canon Digital Rebel XTi, and Nikon D80 cameras

I donít think I need special features, except maybe image stabilization ( presumably I would need that in low-light situations without a tripod?)

Thanks in advance for your help. This is a great site Ė there are an overwhelming number of choices out there.

Tim018
06-26-2007, 07:59 PM
Get the Nikon D80 body- for about $900 here http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/449061-REG/Nikon_25412_D80_SLR_Digital_Camera.html

for lenses: get a 50mm f/1.4 prime for your artwork(make sure to use a tripod with this!) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/97413-USA/Nikon_1902_Normal_AF_Nikkor_50mm.html

and then i would suggest the 18-70 for your night landscape shots

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/324190-USA/Nikon_2149_18_70mm_f_3_5_4_5_G_AFS_ED_IF.html