PDA

View Full Version : Which camera would you recommend?

narcohds
06-17-2007, 07:03 PM
Budget
* max $300

Size
I already have a Nikon D70, so I am looking for something smaller to carry with me on an everyday basis, but that will get good quality photos.

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you? 6+

What optical zoom will you need? 4x +

How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10) 10--very important

Do you care for manual controls? yes--but I have a husband who is not as camera savvy as me.

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for?
I do some semi-pro photography on the side with my D70, but I am a high school teacher primarily. I take a lot of photos at school of my students, at home of my family, etc, etc. I love my D70, but don't want to keep it in my car/ classroom. (aside from the fact that it is supposed to only be for photo work.)

Will you be making big prints of your photos or not? I don't have any plans to print larger than 8x10's.

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?
With my school photos, in addition to classroom shots, I attend football games, prom, award banquets, etc. Otherwise, I shoot the standard family functions, etc.

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?
This is where I would use my D70, but high school students and family members can move rather quickly. :)

Miscellaneous

Are there particular brands you like or hate?
I have used Nikon all my life, though, I've had a couple of Olympus p&s. My father is/ has been a professional photographer for the past forty plus years and he used Nikon almost exclusively until four months ago when he switched to Canon. I would like to stay between the two since I am already familiar with the companies/ products.