PDA

View Full Version : My First-Ever Camera...EVER!! Need Help

Rachel Archer
06-14-2007, 11:32 PM
Dear all,

Hi, my name is Rachel, I'm 28 years old and live in Toronto, Canada. I have never before in my life to date purchased a camera of any kind (unless you count those ridiculous little throwaway thingies you can buy in any convenience store, and I haven't touched one of them in years either, lol).

I am posting here now because while I've never yet purchased a camera or digital camera, as an artist I have long wished to. Recently my ship came in and now I have the opportunity to make it happen! However, there's a zillion different cameras out there and as a total noob who doesn't even know what SLR stands for, it's hard to tell what to choose and whether a $200 will suit me, or if $1000 is more in line with my needs. So, first I'll answer the questions laid out in the Sticky at the top of this section of the forum, and then add from there.

Budget: Not an issue. My ship has come in. Mind you I see no reason to spend wastefully on features that I won't use.

----

Size: I was hoping to find a camera that was handheld and smaller, you know, like all these silvery little digital ones that everyone and their brother seems to have nowadays, as opposed to some big clunky 'retro'-looking thing that everyone can see coming a mile off and is heavy. Having said that, I do NOT want a camera that's so small that it's difficult to manage, where simply shifting your hands to grip the thing better leads to the accidental pressing of ten different buttons, know what I mean?

----

Features: Please bear in mind I know next to nothing about features, but will try my best to answer this one.

- UltraZoom sounds good to me (who wouldn't want to be able to get good zoom options?)

- Image Quality is of prime importance to me - if 10 means extremely important, then put me down as 11, lol!