PDA

View Full Version : I've narrowed it down --I think! Please help!

PleaseAdvise
06-12-2007, 07:56 AM
Can someone recommend a very decent yet affordable digital camera?
I'm by no means a professional photographer --I know very little about the technical aspects of photography --but I know enough to be disgusted with the pictures the lower-end digital cameras get. I'm also hoping to learn more, so I'd like a camera that is user-friendly, yet allows for manual control, and one that can accomodate advanced usage as I learn. The size and weight of the camera aren't so important --quality is. A primary use for the camera will be to photograph kids, so a continuous shooting mode, action shot and portait functions are all important. A good video mode is also a plus. I need a camera that can handle shots from various angles and from up close without distortion . I want a camera that can take pictures that look professional and can handle all different types of light and color --I really don't want to have to Photoshop each of my pictures. While the optical zoom is appealing, I guess I don't really need more than the standard --although it definitely won't hurt as I don't want to have to use the digital zoom. I understand that I really don't need more than 6 megapixel. Again, image quality is very important.

I'm looking to spend in the neighborhood of $300.

The Canon A640, Canon 710 IS, Canon Powershot S3 IS and the Fuji FinePix were all recommended. Thoughts?

speaklightly
06-12-2007, 09:59 AM