PDA

View Full Version : High Quality $300-$500 camera (SD memory)

ciprian24
05-28-2007, 10:06 AM
Budget
$300-$500 (maybe even $600 if it would give me a significant increase in quality)

Size
I would prefer compact because it's easier to carry while traveling, but I am not sure their quality is as good as the bigger cameras. Maybe you can suggest me both compact and bigger cameras;

Features
- How many megapixels will suffice for you? Not really sure (hopefully 7mp+)
- What optical zoom will you need? at least 10x zoom
- How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10) image quality is very important 11
Do you care for manual controls? don't care about manual controls

General Usage
- What will you generally use the camera for? I am not a professional photographer, I plan to take pictures to share with friends and family and also make prints for them. Most of the pictures will probably be static, but I might take some action pictures of friends playing (not that important though). I will take pictures both in daylight and evening/night.
- Will you be making big prints of your photos or not? I am not sure what you mean by big prints, but I don't plan to make big posters too much
- Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos? Probably 50% of pictures will be indoor or low light.
- Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos? No sports pictures

Miscellaneous
- (If applicable) Do you need any of the following special features?
Image Stabilization would be cool, not sure if it would fit into my price range.

Summary: Most important thing is image quality. I would prefer a compact / medium-size if the drop in quality is small, otherwise I would go with the bigger cameras. It really needs to be good in all situations: outdoors/indoors/low-light. And I like big zooms (like 10x).

toriaj
05-28-2007, 10:56 AM