PDA

View Full Version : And for my next silly question....

pjd
05-27-2007, 05:09 PM
..... if I get the Pentax K100D with two lenses for under 400, and just leave it on AUTO for the vast majority of the time, will I get better results than a top end p & s/ prosumer? (Obviously there is more to be had from utilising all the functions available but I'm still learning.)

My Fuji F30 is great indoors and fine outdoors, but I want a little bit more. I figure that I don't really need a DSLR and the associated expense and bother with swapping lenses. But the likes of the Canon S3/5 and Sony H5/7 have, I believe, only a slight improvement in sensor quality and really only have zoom as their main advantage over the F30. The other thing I'm looking for is wide-angle, and the likes of the above don't even have that. I'd be prepared to go for the Pentax at the above price if I've got this right, otherwise I don't know what will tick enough boxes for me.

Help?

tim11
05-27-2007, 05:22 PM
DSLR have advantages over PnS hands down if you are willing to explore them. But since you will leave it in auto anyway then most of those advantages will be lost.
I see you are happy with F30. Are you aware of Fuji FinePix S6000fd (aka S6500fd)? It's F30 with longer zoom, 28 mm wide angle, manual zoom and focus rings. Excelleng face detection technology and solidly built with 10.7 optical zoom. It has no IS though but neither do most DSLR. It's menu structures are very similar to F30 and it the characteristic of F30 since they the same image sensor. I suggest you have a look.

SpecialK
05-27-2007, 06:12 PM
I would recommend shooting in P(rogram) over Auto as Auto uses the "Bright" mode which can cause some colors to glow excessively. If you shoot in RAW then you can change it to "natural" but I doubt you would use that format if you plan to shoot in Auto.

fionndruinne
05-27-2007, 06:19 PM