PDA

View Full Version : Nikon Coolscan III LS30 installation trouble



LucyI
01-22-2006, 09:47 AM
Hello,
Hoping someone here has some experience with this issue...

I just purchased a used Coolscan III LS30. Iíve tried to install on a WinXP SP2 machine and a Win98SE machine. Neither machine sees the scanner (Plug & Play does not initiate). When I try to install the hardware manually Windows rejects any .INF file I point it to (have tried dozens of times). It says the info for my hardware is not there.

On both machines I installed the SCSI host adapter that came with the scanner and I downloaded and installed the current Nikon Scan software version. The software seems to be working properly but I get a message that it is unable to find any active devices. Also, I tried Vuescan which does not find the scanner either. On the both machines I downloaded and installed the necessary ASPI layer.

I don't know what firmware version is currently in the scanner. I have downloaded the latest firmware but cannot install it since my computers don't communicate with the scanner yet.

The scanner came with two scsi cables so have tried them both. The scanner is the only device on this port and I have set the termination to "On", but also tried with "Off" just for good measure. The scanner powers up and makes usual scanner types of starting noises.

Just can't get the machines to find or recognize the scanner so I can install the hardware. Please help! Thanks in advance.

kgosden
01-22-2006, 10:18 AM
You don't mention if your machine is actually recognizing the SCSI card and scanning it for active devices. Is the SCSI card visible under /Settings/Control Panel/System/Hardware/Device Manager? There should be a 'SCSI and Raid Controllers' icon under your computer. You also will typically see the SCSI card scan it's bus during bootup assuming that you have the PC BIOS set to display all the startup messages.

SCSI devices are not typically plug and play. If I add or power on a SCSI scanner after bootup on my Adaptec controller I have to force a rescan of the SCSI bus.

LucyI
01-22-2006, 11:18 AM
Nope, I don't see a SCSI card or controller in Device Manager on either machine. And now that you mention it, I happened to notice that a SCSI card WAS listed in the Device Manager of my Win98 machine UNTIL I tried to install the scanner. Do I need to reinstall my SCSI card? And if so - how do I go about doing that?

Could this have something to do with the SCSI Host Adapter software that was supplied by Nikon? Or - the ASPI layer I updated?

kgosden
01-23-2006, 07:28 PM
Hmm, I did a little digging on the Nikon site. The LS30 did not include a SCSI adapter (it would have been unusual if it did). So that leads me to wonder what adapter you recieved. It should be labeled someplace. I am betting that the adapter is not installed as far as Windows is concerned as you are lacking the drivers. Be aware that many older SCSI adapters are not supported under Windows XP. I had to upgrade to a new Adaptec when I built my current XP machine a few years ago.

LucyI
01-23-2006, 07:41 PM
Interestingly enough Nikon used to ship this scanner with a card.
Thanks so much for all your help. I have located a scsi card that is both compatible with the scanner and WinXP or Win98 (or so they say). Good news is they are available for very little money on Ebay. Let's hope I won't be back here again after installing this one!
Thanks again!!!

pastit
03-22-2008, 11:18 AM
Hi All,
Did LucyI's problem ever get resolved, I have the same problem.
My scanner and scsi card worked fine until I updated from Windows Millenium to Windows XP service pack 2,
It would seem Nikon does not support XP .... can you believe it?
Regards


Hello,
Hoping someone here has some experience with this issue...

I just purchased a used Coolscan III LS30. Iíve tried to install on a WinXP SP2 machine and a Win98SE machine. Neither machine sees the scanner (Plug & Play does not initiate). When I try to install the hardware manually Windows rejects any .INF file I point it to (have tried dozens of times). It says the info for my hardware is not there.

On both machines I installed the SCSI host adapter that came with the scanner and I downloaded and installed the current Nikon Scan software version. The software seems to be working properly but I get a message that it is unable to find any active devices. Also, I tried Vuescan which does not find the scanner either. On the both machines I downloaded and installed the necessary ASPI layer.

I don't know what firmware version is currently in the scanner. I have downloaded the latest firmware but cannot install it since my computers don't communicate with the scanner yet.

The scanner came with two scsi cables so have tried them both. The scanner is the only device on this port and I have set the termination to "On", but also tried with "Off" just for good measure. The scanner powers up and makes usual scanner types of starting noises.

Just can't get the machines to find or recognize the scanner so I can install the hardware. Please help! Thanks in advance.

LucyI
03-22-2008, 07:42 PM
Hi Pastit,
My problem did get resolved on the Win 98 machine, never with XP. So I keep an old laptop around just to use with the scanner - which isn't very often in my case. Not even sure if it will fire up at this point. And it was so long ago I'm afraid I don't remember the exact steps I went through to get it working, but I seem to remember it involved the purchase of a SCSI card for the laptop...
Sorry to not be more help to you!
Lucy

pastit
03-23-2008, 06:12 AM
Hi Lucy
Thank you for your prompt reply.
I'm amazed that a company like Nikon won't support SP2 of XP, of course Nikon wants me to buy a new scanner, I hope they don't hold their breath.:rolleyes:
Regards
Chris

TYLER22
02-05-2009, 05:17 PM
Hi lucy, i just purchased a coolscan iii l-30 also, but need a scsi card for my win 98 computer. What scsi card did you actually get for it to work? Model number or exact kind name would be a big help. Thanks so much.... Larr

emaglott
11-29-2009, 11:46 AM
I'm just installing this scanner and its scsi card. It's an adaptec 2906 PCi SCSI card I got from the seller of the scanner, I'm running XP SP3. XP is using a microsoft driver for the SCSI card, the AIC-7850 driver. It does work with the free version of vuescan I downloaded. With nikon scan I get the "unable to find any active devices" message. Anybody have any ideas? I have seen the advice about using a different scsi driver but it seems to be working with Vuescan so that makes me think that the scsi interface is good. And the adaptec site has no driver to download for XP.

Any help appreciated.
Edward

emaglott
12-04-2009, 07:28 PM
http://support.nikontech.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13777
Well I got it working, most of the credit goes to the above article. Its weird that it worked with the Vuescan program without that Adaptec ASPI layer installed, but would not work with Nikon Scan at all.

Marco_1962
02-03-2010, 08:29 AM
Was anybody finally able to use Nikon Scan 3.1.x (I mean: the one supporting SCSI scanners such as LS-2000 on Windows XP with SERVICE PACK 2 or 3?

I have been using this scanner and Nikon Scan sw many years ago, (about 7 years) and I can't remember if my computer was using Win98SE or WinXP already.

I have tried reinstalling the scanner in my computer in these days (same HW: Athlon XP64, ASUS K8NE-Deluxe) where Windows XP SP3 is installed, but in no way I can have Nikon Scan program working.

THe scanner is properly seen in the system (LS2000 drivres are loaded) as well as by my SCSI Adaptec card (2940) during computer power-up.

The ASPI layerws are there. Vuescan sees the scanner and can run previews and scans.

COnversely, Nikon scan freezes at its splash screen taking 99% of my CPU
every times I start it.
No way of solving the problems reinstalling all the hardware (includign a fresh WinXP SP2 reinstal...

Any help?

Thanks.

JLV
02-03-2010, 10:21 AM
My old HP scanner had a SCSI card. When I upgraded to XP it would not run. I got a new scanner.

Dread Pirate Roberts
02-04-2010, 11:12 PM
Can't help you other than to say Nikon scan 4 works with XP, don't know about its predecessors.

emaglott
02-06-2010, 05:40 AM
http://support.nikontech.com/app/ans...ail/a_id/13777
Well I got it working, most of the credit goes to the above article. Its weird that it worked with the Vuescan program without that Adaptec ASPI layer installed, but would not work with Nikon Scan at all. I think what finally did it for me was using the Adaptec ASPI layer.

Bernard46
01-16-2011, 12:15 PM
I'd appreciate a bit of help on ths please. I used to have this scanner (Coolscan III) working on my ThinkPad but then I had to reload XP Pro and now I canoot get it to work again. My problem is in getting the Nikon Scan application to install. I have followed the advice in the 13777 Nikon article referred to above and I have the correct ASPI modules installed. The only slight difference from the article is that the ASPI32.SYS module is actually in the C:\Windows\system32\drivers directory and I'm not sure if this matters.
I can see the scaner in device manager and it is identified correctly as a Nikon Coolscan III. However when I try to do the install of the Nikon Scan application by clicking on setup.exe it starts and the installshield wizard gets about 80% of the way through the progress bar (according to the little line) and then it just bombs out. The first time there is no message at all, but subsequent times it says "Error extracting support files: Access is denied" and that's it.
I have a sneaking suspicion this may be somehow due to different levels of the Installshield wizard because I think I have seen this before but I'm not sure. Can anyone else shed any light on my problem please?

Bernard46
01-16-2011, 12:17 PM
Apologies for the extra post - I forgot to tick the instant email response box just in case any kins soul replies!

Dread Pirate Roberts
01-17-2011, 04:12 AM
I hope you get an answer from someone who knows but thought I'd point out it's an old thread and a pretty specialised question.

Bernard46
01-17-2011, 04:28 AM
If I don't I'm no worse off I guess and if I don't try I never will find out, so there isn't much to loose. I'll be optimistic. :)