PDA

View Full Version : Bought a D50 package with two Sigma Lens. Opinions wanted.

Quirkitized
01-08-2006, 10:31 PM
Hi, new to this forum and digital photography, especially now a Digital SLR. My previous digital cameras include a Vivitar 3715 (piece of crap...) and recently my fiance and I bought a Canon Powershot A610. I must say for a point and shoot camera, it is very good for sub $300.

Now that I've bored you with that... I'm wanting to get into more serious photo taking and feel too limited with P&S cameras so I just bought a Nikon D50 with 2 Sigma lenses. Some have told me the kit "sucks", the lenses are no good and what have you. Some have told me they are just fine and will suit me, since I'm just starting out as well.

Here is a link to the kit I purchased, I read the rules but I didn't see a rule stating no ebay links, hope you don't mind. Now mind you, this was $810 ($832 shipped.) If I was to buy it retail in the store I would have got the Camera body + the stock 18-55mm lense only (if thats the stock lens that comes kitted with it..)
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7578737398&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1

Now I do realize that obviously, for the price I am definitely not getting high quality lenses and top notch product. I'm just wondering if anybody has these 2 lenses, or one of them and could maybe link me to some pictures they took with them? I did some research on the 70-300mm lense and I believe it's the non-APO verison, which I hope will still take some good shots.

I'll recieve this package on either Wednesday or Thursday and plan on taking some pictures at the local zoo as soon as I get it. In the mean time I would like others opinion on these lenses, some new ones for me to purchase that are better, or what have you.

I have read quite a bit and seen some posts like this, but couldn't find my perticulary lenses with the D50.

Lenses with the kit.
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8-4 High Speed Zoom Lens