PDA

View Full Version : Noise at High ISO - who wins, Nikon or Canon

Martoon
01-06-2006, 12:32 PM
I'm new to digital SLR's. But I'm wondering about "noise," which I'm constantly hearing about.

I used to like the results I got on black and white film with film rated at 32 hundred (I like the grainy images).

I'm considering either a Nikon D-70 or Canon XT. My old film camera was a Nikon 20/20 with a couple of Nikkor Lenses (a 28mm and a 50mm).

I was told that Canon has much less noise at high film speeds. Is this true?

Also, can anybody describe to me how "noise" appears or alters the image.

Would you recommend I buy a Nikon digital body and use my old Nikkor AF lenses?

Thanks

Jason25
01-06-2006, 12:44 PM
Both are great performers at high ISO settings. I shoot my D50 at high ISO regularly without real issue. If you already have Nikkors, might as well save some cash and get the D70s.

timmciglobal
01-06-2006, 12:54 PM
IMHO, Nikon wins in lumi noise area (bright areas have less noise) where as canon wins in the shadow area (shadow areas have less noise)

Keep in mind, the D70 has more noise then the D50.

Tim

D70FAN
01-06-2006, 01:03 PM
I'm new to digital SLR's. But I'm wondering about "noise," which I'm constantly hearing about.

I used to like the results I got on black and white film with film rated at 32 hundred (I like the grainy images).

I'm considering either a Nikon D-70 or Canon XT. My old film camera was a Nikon 20/20 with a couple of Nikkor Lenses (a 28mm and a 50mm).

I was told that Canon has much less noise at high film speeds. Is this true?

Also, can anybody describe to me how "noise" appears or alters the image.

Would you recommend I buy a Nikon digital body and use my old Nikkor AF lenses?

Thanks