PDA

View Full Version : Lenses for theatre?

alubkin
12-24-2005, 11:44 AM
Hi all! I'm a newbie to the forums and to dSLRs... I just picked up a Nikon D50, with the kit 18-55 lens. I'm looking for lens and accessory recommendations.I'm a set designer, and I do some interior design, so my needs are a little complicated. I'm planning on using the stock lens for my interior design pictures, because of the nice wide angle, but i'd like a zoom (55-200 or 70-300 ish range) that has decent low-light performance for taking shots of my sets under stage lighting. I don't have much to spend... really not over $200, and the less the better, but i'd like something that doesn't entirely suck for when I can't steal my sister's lenses. :)

Also, so far as accessories, obviously memory and a bag (i'm looking at the nova 3, microtrekker 100, and velocity 7... any opinions?) and all that, but what about filters, etc.?

Danke!

coldrain
12-24-2005, 12:30 PM
The 55-200 from Nikon sucks badly at 200mm, and that is putting it mildly. You will not find around 200$ zooms that perform well in low light of course.
For the 70-300 lenses the Sigma 70-300 APO DG version is the one you should go for, better than Nikon's (and Tamron's) offerings.

A more lightsensitive alternative might be the Nikon Nikkor AF 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF, but it costs more (around 350$ or so?) and you need your legs to do the zooming for you. It is a very sharp lens.

D70FAN
12-24-2005, 03:37 PM