PDA

View Full Version : ring



ribac
12-20-2005, 02:39 PM
I just bought D50 with kit lens 18-55mm which has 52mm hood size.
I'm new in Photography but mainly use my video camera which has 55mm hood size.
Would be any problem to buy step-up ring from 52-55mm and use my filters what I have for my video camera??
Also If I buy,say 50mm f/1.8 lens,the size of the lens hood would be different than the size of 52mm(kit lens)??
I'm just trying to find out If each time I would buy new lens,it has different lens hood size>

Thanks

Jason25
12-20-2005, 02:42 PM
I just looked at my 50 1.8, it takes 52mm :)

ktixx
12-20-2005, 02:51 PM
I just bought D50 with kit lens 18-55mm which has 52mm hood size.
I'm new in Photography but mainly use my video camera which has 55mm hood size.
Would be any problem to buy step-up ring from 52-55mm and use my filters what I have for my video camera??
Also If I buy,say 50mm f/1.8 lens,the size of the lens hood would be different than the size of 52mm(kit lens)??
I'm just trying to find out If each time I would buy new lens,it has different lens hood size>

Thanks

Normally DSLR Camera Lense Hoods don't attach with threads, they have unique tracks and locking mechanism on the outside of the lense. If your video camera hood attached with threads then you will have no problem with a step up ring.
Ken

ribac
12-20-2005, 03:12 PM
Can I use something like that:??

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=307041&is=REG&addedTroughType=search

Kind don't understand what "threads"
Thanks

ktixx
12-20-2005, 09:23 PM
Threads are the same thing on a bottle cap (similar to grooves), they are what filters screw onto. They are on both sides of that step up ring. Normally lens hoods don't use those, however your Camcorder may have a lense hood that does

erichlund
12-20-2005, 10:42 PM
The step up ring will work just fine for the filters, but it may interfere slightly with the use of the hood, so you may have an either / or thing.