PDA

View Full Version : D50 + Sigma 18-200mm

amdhappy
12-20-2005, 10:02 AM
Has anyone used a D50 with Sigma 18-200mm lens?

I am planning to buy them in the new year and I am just after some comments. If not, can I has your thoughts on the combination?

Thank you

W.

ktixx
12-20-2005, 10:38 AM
Great combo for walk around, however just be aware that you will sacrifice image quality for the flexibility of a zoom like that. It is difficult for manufactuers to produce a high quality zoom with that much range. All in all - the 18-200 (which I have no experience with) seems like a great lense for the average user.
Ken

timmciglobal
12-20-2005, 01:13 PM
You may look into spending the extra 300$ and getting the nikon 18-200 which will have much faster and quieter focusing plus vibration reduction which is a priceless feature on any zoom.

Tim

amdhappy
12-20-2005, 02:17 PM
Great combo for walk around, however just be aware that you will sacrifice image quality for the flexibility of a zoom like that. It is difficult for manufactuers to produce a high quality zoom with that much range. All in all - the 18-200 (which I have no experience with) seems like a great lense for the average user.
Ken

Thanks for your comments. Do you think the 18-125mm Sigma will sacrifice image quality as well?

Or should I go for the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 (http://tinyurl.com/d33bq)?

What other lens could you recommend?

Regards,

w.

caveman017
12-20-2005, 06:17 PM
Thanks for your comments. Do you think the 18-125mm Sigma will sacrifice image quality as well?

Or should I go for the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 (http://tinyurl.com/d33bq)?

Regards,

w.
thats an amazing lens

Quorthon
12-22-2005, 12:53 PM