PDA

View Full Version : Best lens for D50

jcon
11-10-2005, 04:38 PM
Hello! I have been over at the Panasonic side of this forum for a long time, due to owning an FZ20. I am seriously looking into getting the D50 soon and am just starting my research. I am tryin to find out all I can about the different lenses. I have read that the Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX lense is one of the best. Is this an everyday lens? Would I need to buy 3 different lenses, one for my indoor low light sports shots( Commercial wrestling, WWE), one for outdoor shots, and finally one for portraits? Or would the above lense cover this? As I said I am just starting out with the DSLR research and thank you for your help and understanding of my "newbie" questions!

Balrog
11-10-2005, 05:44 PM
Step 1) Go to the Lens forum
Step 2) Read Rex's Lens Buyers Guide
Step 3) Be enlightened. :D
Step 4) Come back if you have further questions.

EDIT: Here's a link (http://www.dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8089) :)

coldrain
11-11-2005, 03:06 AM
And no, the lens you mention is not one of the best, by far. It is just not one if the worst.

jcon
11-11-2005, 12:49 PM
Coldrain, thanks for the reply and info/opinion. I asked because Ken Rockwell seemed to like this lens quite a bit, called it one of the best lenses hes used. Balrog, thanks for the link, it was very insightful. I do have a couple ideas for lenses from that link, thanks! Any personal suggestions from other users would be great:D

coldrain
11-11-2005, 01:17 PM
jcon, that does not mean it is not a nice lens to have. For its price it is a good lens, that will not let you down.

If you are looking for one of the best lenses for that range you are talking about a Nikkor AF-S f2.8 28-70mm IF-ED for instance, or a Nikkor AF-S DX f2.8 17-55mm. But that kind of glass will set you back a cool $2000 and $1500 or so respectivily.

So, you could do worse than getting that D70s kit lens...

jcon
11-11-2005, 02:13 PM