PDA

View Full Version : Should camera manufacturers be able to see reviews ahead of time?

Jeff Keller
10-14-2005, 10:57 AM
Recently a camera manufacturer requested to see my review of their camera before it was posted. I have never done this before. My rules were simple: factual corrections are fine, but trying to sway my opinion is not.

What do you think about this?

sherlock
10-14-2005, 12:33 PM
Recently a camera manufacturer requested to see my review of their camera before it was posted. I have never done this before. My rules were simple: factual corrections are fine, but trying to sway my opinion is not.

Hey Jeff,

I dont think there would be anything wrong with letting the manufacturer see the review as long as it didnt sway your opinion at all as you said. Its good because if the manufacturer sees something that is blatantley wrong with the review they can change it before everyone here at the DCRP sees it. Just my .02

Drew S.

eastbluffs
10-14-2005, 01:26 PM
Actually, my answer is yes and no.

Yes if it keeps you out of liability trouble.

No if it means they can stack the deck. Honest and unpartial review is of course a plus for us.

D Thompson
10-14-2005, 03:13 PM
Actually, my answer is yes and no.

Yes if it keeps you out of liability trouble.

No if it means they can stack the deck. Honest and unpartial review is of course a plus for us.
Ditto!!!!!!!

Norm in Fujino
10-14-2005, 07:25 PM
I voted NO, but on reflection, I think the "factual errors" business may be a good thing to consider. If you show a harsh review to the mfr and they correctly point out how you were misusing the camera in some way, or weren't implementing the instructions correctly, it might be a good thing. And the feedback could be positive.

twin
10-15-2005, 02:42 PM

Jeff,

I don't think it's a good ideia to let a camera manufacturer see your review of their camera. Once you make it the first time you'll do it for the rest of your days, and have to do it for everyone else.