PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Newbie Questions

eaglssong
10-13-2005, 09:16 AM
Hi,

I am waiting for delivery of a KM A200, but am very confused about the differenty types of memory cards that are available in the market.

Could someone please explain the differences between the CF cards vs. the SD cards? Is one preferred over the other? Am I better off with a card that has large capacity, vs. several that have less? I'm thinking in terms of travel in particular, and as of now (and probably well into the future), I will not have any sort of laptop to download to. Also, could someone explain the value of using a card reader over using the camera to get photos from the camera to the computer?

I'm really new at all of this, so please forgive me if my questions sound really dumb, but I am a firm believer that the only real dumb question is one that goes unasked.

Thank you very much for any explanations you can give me, as well as your own personal advice.

:) Anne

JLV
10-13-2005, 11:24 AM
CF and SD are different sizes. You need to pick the one that fits your camera.

As for capacity, the more pixels your cameraís resolution, the more capacity you will need. There are two arguments on capacity. One is the larger the better, so that you have room for all your photos. The other is donít put all our photos on one chip. If the card goes bad you will lose them all.

I hope this helps you a little. Enjoy your new camera.
:)

Clyde
10-13-2005, 11:29 AM
Hi,

I am waiting for delivery of a KM A200, but am very confused about the differenty types of memory cards that are available in the market.