Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #1  
Old 07-02-2005, 09:27 AM
nonilley nonilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Wawa Digital?

http://store.wawadigital.net/

Has anyone ordered from them?

Do they look like a reputable business to order from?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 07-03-2005, 10:16 PM
nonilley nonilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Is it odd that someone called my housing after I ordered to ask me my shipping/billing address just to make sure I hadn't stolen a credit card? Then proceeded hang up fairly briefly after that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2005, 10:23 PM
TheObiJuan TheObiJuan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,337
Default

you should always go to http://resellerratings.com first. Mention it to everyone you know. It will save many others time and money.
__________________
US Navy--Hooyah!

Nikon D700/D300|17-35 f/2.8, 24-70 f/2.8, Sigmalux, 80-200 f/2.8, 16 f/2.8 fisheye,

Lots of flashes and Honl gear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2005, 11:04 PM
Bluedog Bluedog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near New Orleans
Posts: 1,269
Default

Good advice Obijuan and as for that Wawa Digital has a Lifetime Rating: 0.56 > < thats awful! ... The #1 gimmick is only having a yahoo email address for Customer Service.
__________________
.

Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS| Canon 70-200mm f/4L | Canon Speedlite 430EX + Sto-Fen Omni Bounce | Manfrotto 3001BD & 680B/486RC2 | Hoya Super HMC Pro1 Digital Filters | Hitech ND & GND Filters | Bags > Kata R-103 + Lowepro Nova 5 AW

RawShooter | premium 2006 > My PBase Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:09 AM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

I wouldn't expect much from a business that uses Yahoo as a host or that works out of New York.

Quote:
Domain Name.......... wawadigital.net
Creation Date........ 2004-12-30
Registration Date.... 2004-12-30
Expiry Date.......... 2005-12-30
Organisation Name.... Eric Anderson
Organisation Address. 295 ave o
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. brooklyn
Organisation Address. 11230
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES
Admin Name........... Eric Anderson
Admin Address........ 295 ave o
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ brooklyn
Admin Address........ 11230
Admin Address........ NY
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... wawadigital@yahoo.com

Admin Phone.......... 1.7186258596
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM

Tech Phone........... 1.6198813096
Tech Fax............. 1.6198813010
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2005, 07:14 PM
nonilley nonilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah I "cancelled" my order by cancelling my credit card just in case.

How did you get that information? Rhvs, almost typed RVHS cus that was my High school
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2005, 07:20 PM
Bluedog Bluedog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near New Orleans
Posts: 1,269
Default

SamSpade.org can tell you a lot about a domain name or IP address. Just right click and copy the www.stuff to SamSpade digger: Like this
__________________
.

Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS| Canon 70-200mm f/4L | Canon Speedlite 430EX + Sto-Fen Omni Bounce | Manfrotto 3001BD & 680B/486RC2 | Hoya Super HMC Pro1 Digital Filters | Hitech ND & GND Filters | Bags > Kata R-103 + Lowepro Nova 5 AW

RawShooter | premium 2006 > My PBase Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:48 AM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluedog
SamSpade.org can tell you a lot about a domain name or IP address. Just right click and copy the www.stuff to SamSpade digger: Like this
Aha. Another samspade user. Actually, I also use domain name registration bodies when samspade fails, checking arin, ripe and a few others, manually.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2005, 07:10 PM
fightback fightback is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Thumbs down Wawa Digital--Stay away from them

Also check out the flood of bad reports on Wawa Digital on Cnet and on Ripoffs.com.

Beware, they're bad news!

Today before reading the dcresource, Ripoffs.com and CNet forum boards, I was about to push the submit order button for a camera from WAWA DIGITAL w/ all my credit card and personal info, when I had the caution to call Wawa Digital (no address or e-mail contact given) to gain assurance that the camera was new. The single digit IQ guy was a foreigner and was offended to be asked the question. He replied that everything they sell is new, so I asked if that means new in a sealed factory box. He said he wouldn't answer and, in retort to my asking why he couldn't give a polite answer, he made another rude statement. I asked where they were located and he snottily replied that it didn't matter. I told him he needed an attitude adjustment and hit the cancel button. I strongly suggest you do the same.

Perhaps they are not US based and are using the NYC storefront as a front. No doubt they are not factory authorized dealers for anything. This could mean that they might sell a non-USA version camera with no warranty. I checked w/ Fuji and was told Wawa is NOT an authorized dealer, hence no warranty.

Reports detail profanity, hard selling of accessories to release a camera order, and abusiveness. No poster has said they actually received any camera! The Wawa people are louts. Did I mention the danger of credit card scamming?


Last edited by fightback; 07-18-2005 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:27 PM
currahee_2506 currahee_2506 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default WAWA digital

Same experience just a few minutes ago. The guy told me that "I could care less what you do" after I informed him I would take every measure I could to inform others. I had ordered a camera through their site thinking that it was new. Their repersentative called two days later and asked me what kind of warranty I would like. I told him that the factory warranty was sufficient and he informed me that I had bought a refurbished camera and that there is no mandate to state this fact on their advertising. DO NOT BUY FROM WAWA! From their accents (I spoke with two different persons) they sound like they are middle eastern - likely Yemeni. They're probably building up their bank accounts, with our own money, to fund more terrorists.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.