Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   

Go Back   Digital Camera Resource Page Forums > General Topics > Where Should I Buy My Camera?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2005, 05:19 AM
minc3d minc3d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default In need of second (and third) opinion on a fishy Amazon deal

Well im in a dilemna here. The prices of digital rebel XT cameras on amazon, in particular the black version with kit lens, is priced real cheap on amazon by two guys who keep relisting their item, presumably after a sale that removes the listing as if they have many in stock. The price is $450 by each guy and I spoke with them both via email. Here is the page where i found them:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...775351?s=photo

I need some help to determine if i should go ahead and purchase a camera from one. Their responses sound a little fishy as they keep saying that i should send them my address and they will process the order thru amazon and anpther common line is an international warranty that is accepted by all canon reps. I feel a little safe because of amazons safe buying guarentee that covers up to $2500 of any purchase. Check out some of the responses they gave me via email last night:

Quote:
Hello ,

The camera is brand new , and sealed in it`s box.

It comes with several accessories as following : Canon Gadget Bag for SLR cameras, Canon battery charger , Canon neck strap , camera tripod , Canon battery charger , 1 GB compact flashcard.

If you are interested in buying the camera we would ask you to provide us your full shipping details ( Name , Adress , City , Zip Code and Country ) to process the order.

The shipping is handled by UPS within 2 business days.

As soon as we receive your details , the order will be processed and Amazon will notify you with the confirmation of the order.

Thank you very much.
and
Quote:
Hi ,

I am a 496 stared rated user on eBay , my username is sampam4 and my registered e-mail on eBay is canon20d@rep-canon.com

You may verify these details aswell.

About this camera, if you wish to proceed and purchase it , please provide me your shipping details to process the order.

Thank you
also

Quote:
Hi ,

This is a special discount we are having at the moment , the camera is not stolen or anything. You will receive a authenticity certificate with it , and also international warranty to all Canon representative services if you would have any trouble with it in the future.
Also, your payment is guaranteed if anything is wrong with the camera , or you don`t find it suitable.
You have a period of 7 days since you receive the camera to request a refund. The payment will be sent back to you in maximum 2 days after your request.
After you will send us your shipping details , Amazon will notify you with the order confirmation , which includes shipping and payment instructions , and also the tracking number of the delivery which we will process after you send us your details.
lastly the other seller sent me this "similar" response...

Quote:
Hello!

The product is new in original box ,it is US version, comes with it`s original software , cables, battery charger, software cd with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens and it has an international warranty of 12 months accepted by all canon service reprezentatives.The transaction will be covered 100% by Amazon. You only need to send us your shipping adress and full name .The delivery will be made via UPS service in 2-3 working days.As soon we will have your shipping details we will process your purchase with amazon and they will inform you about shipping details and payment instruction.
If someone here could help me determine if this is real or fake id appreciate it. I know its too good to be true at the $450 price level for a boxed item, but hes given me an ebay account to check that also matched when i searched via email addy on ebay. The addy he uses on amazon is b44w00f@yahoo.com.

Thanks for the help, this price is ripping my gut!!!
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 06-07-2005, 08:43 AM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

I'd say that $500 is about unit cost price... That should speak for itself...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2005, 09:18 AM
minc3d minc3d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default

So are you telling me that this guy is just giving me the camera at unit price or is he a scammer like the rest? Your answer can go either way LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2005, 09:30 AM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minc3d
So are you telling me that this guy is just giving me the camera at unit price or is he a scammer like the rest? Your answer can go either way LOL.
If it sounds too good to be true, it is. I'd say don't touch it with a bargepole. The going rate for the XT is $800. The lowest realistic price you can find is on buydig.com. Buydig, BTW is the web name for Fry's as far as I can tell. Fry's is a brick and mortar chainstore that seems to spread over the west coast of the US. It goes as far east as Atlanta.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2005, 09:53 AM
minc3d minc3d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for giving me the heads up, I was ready to fall into the trap right before my feet. Im going to report both of those sellers as scammers to ebay.

So you say that buydig.com is a good place? I also saw good prices on beachcamera.

If you have the best possible seller that offers the lowest price, id love to know. IN particular, im looking for someone that has the black rebel xt with kit lens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2005, 10:33 AM
thebac thebac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default

buydig.com=beachcamera.com

Reputable sellers, by all (most) accounts.

buydig.com seems to have it for $844 (free S&H) for the silver kit right now. Their prices change frequently, though, so it wouldn't hurt to check back every once in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2005, 06:07 PM
minc3d minc3d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I gave him a go ahead to see what would happen and indeed this seems like a scam. I canceled once I learned the following:

Quote:
The seller requests to be paid via Western Union Wire Transfer.
Thank you for the understanding.








To submit the payment with Western Union Money Transfer you have the following option: <!-- D([&quot;mb","
Pay for the transfer with cash at a local Western Union agent.
Click here to locate the agents in your area :
http://www.westernunion.com/info/agentInquiryIntl.asp


Once the payment was sent, provide the seller with the following information:
1) MTCN (Western Union Money Transfer Control Number):
2) Sender name :
3) Sender address :
4) City where you sent the money from:
5) Amount sent:
Then wait for the confirmation that the payment was received. Within 2 business days,
you will receive the tracking number for your product.
Thanks for the heads up all and remember that these are scammers and no true seller would ask for a wire transfer. Pay via CC or Paypal only peeps!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2005, 06:34 PM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

https://wumt.westernunion.com/info/faqSecurity.asp#faq2

That's a good place to look in order to avoid western union fraud.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:02 PM
Rex914 Rex914 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhys
If it sounds too good to be true, it is. I'd say don't touch it with a bargepole. The going rate for the XT is $800. The lowest realistic price you can find is on buydig.com. Buydig, BTW is the web name for Fry's as far as I can tell. Fry's is a brick and mortar chainstore that seems to spread over the west coast of the US. It goes as far east as Atlanta.
Fry's is Outpost.com. Buydig is something different as far as I know...
__________________
My Guides: Lens Buyer's Guide

My Gear: 40D | 17-55mm/2.8 IS | 60mm/2.8 Macro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:15 AM
minc3d minc3d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Got fed up with the hidden fees and non USA warranties of many sites and bought from ZipZoomFly.com. Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.