Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #1  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:16 PM
btg108 btg108 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default USA Photo Nation?

Anyone have any experience with USA Photo Nation (www.usaphotonation.com)?

They have an amazing price for the CoolPix 5700 $400 w/ $150 rebate... wondering if they're reputable. Oddly they seem to be cashing in on the rebate themselves and only charging $350 for the camera.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:34 PM
Jake Conner Jake Conner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Default

Generally, I'd say check Reseller Ratings (www.resellerratings.com). But I already did, and USA Photo Nation is not listed... usually a strike against a store. I checked their site, and their prices are far too good to be true... I'd steer clear of this store.

Jake
__________________

Site: Starflower Studios
Camera: Fuji S602
------------------------------------------------------------
God is Dead.
--Nietzsche, 1882

Nietzsche is Dead.
--God, 1900

Nietzsche and God both died on a hill in South Viet Nam, January 1967.
--Bryant Wetzel, 2004
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2004, 10:48 AM
Nick Nick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: the Sea
Posts: 176
Default

They don't have the smallest indication of being a reputable dealer. A google search on them and reviews regarding the store also turned up nothing. I advise against buying from such a place.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2004, 04:43 PM
btg108 btg108 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default Thanks!

Thanks for the input- that was pretty much what I'd feared.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2004, 07:23 PM
eric55 eric55 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default

there prices look great. i say try it but first try getting someone on the phone if you can its a plus, and then if you get it and you got screwed you could always dispute the charge on your credit card. so its a win win
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2004, 06:31 PM
streetrodder streetrodder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default streetrodder

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric55
there prices look great. i say try it but first try getting someone on the phone if you can its a plus, and then if you get it and you got screwed you could always dispute the charge on your credit card. so its a win win
I am trying them...I ordered a Nikon 5700 today..My cost is 378.90 including shipping...I gave them my credit card number and if it doesn't show I will dispute it and not have to pay. However, if it does come I have a bargain in a camera..I did ask them if it was new or refurbished..They said it was new..
Terry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2004, 08:04 PM
Tristan Tristan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Make sure and post back with results!

-Tristan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2004, 04:15 AM
garden7 garden7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default Do Not Buy From This Company

I recently bought an olympus C-770 in a package deal. The camera was 387.00 The package deal was 680.00 with eatra lenses, high capacity battery, and a five year warranty. Anyway the extra battery did not come with it. I called and they said that the high capacity battery was included with the camera. I replied by saying the battery that came with the camera is the standard battery. They said that they exchanged it and put the higher capacity battery in there. Then I replied by saying it was factory sealed and it also said that on their web site. They said they had four different versions of the camera and I received the version with the high capacity battery. I went to Best Buy and looked to see what battery came with the camera and it was the identical low capacity battery. I asked the sales rep before I bought the extra battery if it was seperate from the battey that came with the camera and if I would be getting the battery in addition to that battery. He said yes. I called again and told them about what I did at Best Buy. Then they had another story. They said that the price of the camera on their site does not include the battery and I received the upgraded package with the battery. Each time I proved that what they were saying did not make sense they came up with another lie. Bottom line if it's too good to be true, it probably is. They are very rude about trying to solve customers problems. Stay away from this company.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2004, 03:58 PM
SGeosits SGeosits is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Thought you all might like to see this...

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller7041.html

The first reply says that this same company is posing as USAPhotoNation.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2004, 09:37 PM
waves3464 waves3464 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Angry USA Photonation

I had a bad experience with this online merchant as well. Th good news is I cancelled my order before sent out payment.

This company advertised on their webpage that they have Canon 10D for sale for $825. I knew it would be a grey market product but on their site they said it's available for immediately delivery. So I went ahead and ordered the camera along with battery grip. I specified 3-5 days ground shipping at the cost of $44.

A few days after placing my order, I did not receive any shipping info so I tried to call their 800 phone number but it's busy from 7A-2P. So I sent them an email asking when they plan to ship the product to me? A few hours later, the sales rep called me to verify shipment address and credit card info. He went ahead and try to convince me to purchase warranty at $150/yr. He told me that the camera is new in box but does not come with battery, battery charger, manual or any kind of warranty. I declined the warranty purchase then he made a final "bad-salesman" manuever by telling me that it will take 6-8 weeks before they can ship the product to me. They said they don't have the product right now and has to get it fromthe grey market.

The site also listed that they belongs to Association of Ethical Internet Professionals. This association is not in existence. They also listed that they belongs to American Express Fraud Guarnaty Program. American Express told me today that they never heard of such a program.

This online merchant is fraud! Don't do business with them.

Last edited by waves3464; 07-16-2004 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.