Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #1  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:52 PM
Jesters8 Jesters8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default Any ezperience with Butterfly Photo?

Butterfly Photo

I was reading this site's faq, and it says be on the look out for very low price cameras (butterfly is even based in new york!). Has anyone bought from them before? Pricegrabebr reviews seemed positive. They call you to "confirm" your order and try to sell some extras, but i think its worth it for the savings. On the shopping cart page this notice is posted:


Last edited by Jesters8; 07-22-2004 at 03:53 PM. Reason: added URL
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:56 PM
Jake Conner Jake Conner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Default

I'd go for it, but keep a screenshot with that notice you posted just in case... and of course be sure to print and save the invoice.

Jake
__________________

Site: Starflower Studios
Camera: Fuji S602
------------------------------------------------------------
God is Dead.
--Nietzsche, 1882

Nietzsche is Dead.
--God, 1900

Nietzsche and God both died on a hill in South Viet Nam, January 1967.
--Bryant Wetzel, 2004
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2004, 07:15 PM
Steve Siers Steve Siers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default Butterfly

Both http://www.ResellerRatings.com and http://www.Shopping.com rate them pretty well. I was considering using them for a camcorder. Read the reviews on those sites. Even the negatives don't sound quite as bad as some of the horror stories for other vendors.

Sony DCR-HC40 camcorder is about $526 at Butterfly, about $630 from J&R via Amazon, the only online vendor I trust 100%. I missed a chance to get it from Amazone for $378, new, no hanky panky. Waaagh!

Good luck!

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:24 AM
Photoguy-Atlanta Photoguy-Atlanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Thumbs up butterfly photo

I purchased a Panasonic GS200 from Butterfly Photo a couple of months ago. I did a lot of research and read a lot of horror stories about many of these online discount places. The feedback from butterfly was, for the most part, positive. I decided to take a chance (and save some $$) I called Butterfly and asked a lot of questions. Turns out I bought the cam from them (with USA warranty) and added an additional 2 yr warranty for $99. They did suggest other things to add on, but I was not interested. There was NO high pressure from the salesperson. My order was shipped promptly, my credit card was charged properly and delivery was ahead of schedule.

I am now looking for another digital still cam and will buy it from butterfly also. Overall I was pleasantly surprised and quite pleased with their service.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2004, 09:54 AM
shutterbug shutterbug is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default New to online buying

Just wanted to ask further if www.butterflyphoto.com is a reliable online seller....I have been looking around for a camera, but I am afraid to purchase something online just because it is cheaper. Am I being too paranoid? How is purchasing further warranty? Is is the as if I would have bought it from, say Best Buy?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.