Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #1  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:09 PM
vgodfrey vgodfrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Question Nervous about making online purchase....

I've been researching the web to find the best price from the most reputable internet company to purchase the Konica Minolta DiMage A2, but very nervous about it. Can anyone give me some advice? Does anyone have any experience with purchasing a camera from Zoommania or Willoughby's? AND How important is it that the company says its an "authorized dealer"? Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:05 AM
Robert Robert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default Nervous about buying online !

I can well understand your concern about buying online. There are far more " less than reputable" online dealers that one can imagine. Your best bet would be to checkout the listing at resellerratings.com and look at the ratings for those online dealers that your considering buying from. One thing you'll notice is that the online dealers offering the killer low prices are invaribly the ones with the lowest ratings. I don't know which dealers carry the camera you are interested in but I can recommend a few online dealers with impeccable reputations. However you won't find that their prices are all that spectacular. Newegg.com, bhphotovideo.com and normancamerea.com in my opinion top the list of reputable online dealers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:22 PM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert
I can well understand your concern about buying online. There are far more " less than reputable" online dealers that one can imagine. Your best bet would be to checkout the listing at resellerratings.com and look at the ratings for those online dealers that your considering buying from. One thing you'll notice is that the online dealers offering the killer low prices are invaribly the ones with the lowest ratings. I don't know which dealers carry the camera you are interested in but I can recommend a few online dealers with impeccable reputations. However you won't find that their prices are all that spectacular. Newegg.com, bhphotovideo.com and normancamerea.com in my opinion top the list of reputable online dealers.
I can't say much about specific webshops but I can tell you that the only places online that I buy from are traditional mail-order companies that advertise in magazines etc. I would never deal with anybody whose address is not promenantly displayed and tallies with their domain record and whose address and company name appears in registered company records. In Britain this would be Kompass and Companies House.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2004, 06:34 PM
jkbales jkbales is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Exclamation Beware of advertisers, too

Some online sellers with extremely bad ratings - some show that zero percent would buy from them again also advertise in reputable magazines. Royal Camera and Digital Liguidators have ads in Popular Photography, but you'll find their prices higher than online, if they even post them. The magazine has a code of ethics the seller must adhere to and - apparently - you get all the original accessories, but maybe not a USA warranty. If you mention the magazine to them. Maybe.

But you already know what some of these guys are like, so why would you ever buy from them? Better to reward an honest seller than wonder if an online scam artist was taking advantage of you. Resellerratings.com is customer driven, so when these internet bandits tick off a buyer they really suffer. Personally, I wonder why New York Consumer Protection and the Brooklyn District Attorney don't close these guys down.

John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2004, 03:39 PM
Rhys Rhys is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
Posts: 7,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbales
Some online sellers with extremely bad ratings - some show that zero percent would buy from them again also advertise in reputable magazines. Royal Camera and Digital Liguidators have ads in Popular Photography, but you'll find their prices higher than online, if they even post them. The magazine has a code of ethics the seller must adhere to and - apparently - you get all the original accessories, but maybe not a USA warranty. If you mention the magazine to them. Maybe.

But you already know what some of these guys are like, so why would you ever buy from them? Better to reward an honest seller than wonder if an online scam artist was taking advantage of you. Resellerratings.com is customer driven, so when these internet bandits tick off a buyer they really suffer. Personally, I wonder why New York Consumer Protection and the Brooklyn District Attorney don't close these guys down.

John
Ok. I see problems with all ratings systems in that most are dead easy to rig.

Personally, I read the ratings from savastore.co.uk (could be .com) and they were all negative. I looked at who owned the site. I recognised the company and had no hesitation in buying from them. I put a positive comment after my purchase and it never appeared.

It's easy to put negative (or positive) comments that are completely unwarranted. The main rule is caviat pre-emptor. The second thing is to realise that there are a heck of a lot of crooks using the web as it's utterly faceless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.