Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #1  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:31 AM
suncag suncag is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Question NIkon D70 for $619 @ royalcamera.com?

This is the lowest price I've found on the net - can anyone comment on whether or not this is a scam? Anything I can do do qualify this?
any help/suggestions much appreciated. this price is for the body only, I have lenses already.

thanks,
suncag
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:48 PM
Jeff Keller Jeff Keller is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,044
Exclamation Major scam

Quote:
Originally Posted by suncag
This is the lowest price I've found on the net - can anyone comment on whether or not this is a scam?
Glad you asked before you gave away your money!

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1895.html
__________________
Jeff Keller
Editor, Digital Camera Resource Page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:11 PM
suncag suncag is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Jeff,

Thanks so much! This is great help to me! I called royal camera this morning and they were so rude that I never even initiated the transaction with them. Everything I read on the reseller site you sent me corroborates my gut reaction and suspicion.

thanks again!

P.S. Am I wasting my time trying to find th d70 nikon body only for less than $999? Do you have any place you would recommend?

thanks again,
chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2004, 11:53 PM
Jeff Keller Jeff Keller is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suncag
Am I wasting my time trying to find th d70 nikon body only for less than $999? Do you have any place you would recommend?
After looking at the pricegrabber listings, I wouldn't risk my money on the el-cheapo places.
__________________
Jeff Keller
Editor, Digital Camera Resource Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2004, 03:51 PM
Reminisce Reminisce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami Shores, FL, US
Posts: 7
Default

The only bargain places I would recommend are Buydig.com (bought my Nikon 5700 from there), Butterfly Photo (bought my 300D from them, they call you to confirm however), and abesofmaine (great selection, expensive shipping).

Otherwise, I'd just save up and get it from a reputable vendor like B&H or Newegg. Just my 02 cents
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2004, 03:57 PM
D70FAN D70FAN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Sonoran Desert
Posts: 4,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reminisce
The only bargain places I would recommend are Buydig.com (bought my Nikon 5700 from there), Butterfly Photo (bought my 300D from them, they call you to confirm however), and abesofmaine (great selection, expensive shipping).

Otherwise, I'd just save up and get it from a reputable vendor like B&H or Newegg. Just my 02 cents
I would add Norman Camera to this on-line list, as I have ordered several cameras from them with no muss, no fuss. A very knowlegable and courteous staff. They actually have 2 "brick and mortar" camera stores in Michigan.

I have also found that buying lenses from the local camera stores works out better than on-line. It may cost a little more, but it's worth it when you want to take it back, and you can physically check out new and used equipment before you buy.

Incidently, there is no way that an authorized dealer can sell a factory-new D70 under their cost (or at this point even at deep discount). There is always a catch like selling inferior lenses at twice their value, or a bunch of "junk" accessories. Every business has to make a profit... somewhere.
__________________
Once you go dSLR you'll never go back

Last edited by D70FAN; 10-07-2004 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.