Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
  #11  
Old 11-03-2009, 04:34 PM
HelenOster HelenOster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Default message from Helen at Adorama Camera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooz View Post
helen, still down.
Our web security team were pretty confident that we would be up & running by close of business, today. If you're still having problems tomorrow, let me know.
__________________
Sincerely

Helen Oster
Adorama Camera Customer Service Ambassador


helen.oster@adoramacamera.com
www.adorama.com
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-03-2009, 09:06 PM
Rooz Rooz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: God's Country - Australia
Posts: 8,535
Default

back online. thanks for your help helen. that was some kinda badass virus you guys got.
__________________
D700 l D60 IR l MB-D10 l SU-800 l SB-900 - 800 - 400 - 28 - R1 l TC-14/17 l 14-24 f2.8 l 24-70 f2.8 l 50 f1.4 G l 105 f2.8 VR l 300 f2.8 VR
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:08 PM
David Metsky David Metsky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooz View Post
back online. thanks for your help helen. that was some kinda badass virus you guys got.
It wasn't a virus. It was a distributed denial of service attack; lots of computers all over the world were hijacked to continually bombard the Adorama site with requests. It makes it impossible for the site to service real requests because it's flooded with bad requests. There was never anything infecting the Adorama servers.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:22 PM
Rooz Rooz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: God's Country - Australia
Posts: 8,535
Default

yeah, sorry not up to date with the technicalities of it. the site was unavailable to me for a week. thats pretty damn serious. never seen that before.
__________________
D700 l D60 IR l MB-D10 l SU-800 l SB-900 - 800 - 400 - 28 - R1 l TC-14/17 l 14-24 f2.8 l 24-70 f2.8 l 50 f1.4 G l 105 f2.8 VR l 300 f2.8 VR
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:07 AM
HelenOster HelenOster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 20
Thumbs up Message from Helen at Adorama Camera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooz View Post
yeah, sorry not up to date with the technicalities of it. the site was unavailable to me for a week. thats pretty damn serious. never seen that before.
It has been one helluva week, I can tell you. The web team has literally been working right around the clock to resolve this - and once again, on behalf of everyone at Adorama Camera - and LeisurePro - I want to say a HUGE thank you to all our customers who hung in there and waited for us to deal with it.

DDoS attacks have been going on for years - this is from 2004: http://www.securityfocus.com/news/9411

but the criminals who do this are getting smarter and learning new techniques all the time to cause maximum devastation.

BTW, LiveJournal, Facebook, Google and Twitter all suffered similar attacks back in August, and Sweden just had one: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/10..._ddos_attacks/

It would have been so easy for many of you to go elsewhere, (and of course, we absolutely understand that if time was of the essence then there will have been no choice).

Thanks also for all the emails and messages of support - all really very much appreciated
__________________
Sincerely

Helen Oster
Adorama Camera Customer Service Ambassador


helen.oster@adoramacamera.com
www.adorama.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content, except for forum posts, is © 1997 - 2009 Digital Camera Resource Page LLC (R).
Content and images from this site may not be reposted on your website or online auction.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.