Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 85
  1. #61
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Crapville, Australia
    Posts
    5,148
    You can view a RAW file fairly easily using Microsoft RAW Viewer Utility (a free download), I assume you are using a PC.

    That image looks great as it is, but all things being equal you will have more control with RAW.
    Christian Wright; Dip Phot
    EOS 5D Mark III | EOS 600D | EOS-1V HS
    L: 14/2.8 II | 24/1.4 II | 35/1.4 | 50/1.2 | 85/1.2 II | 135/2 | 180/3.5 Macro | 200/2.8 II | 400/2.8 IS | 16-35/2.8 II | 24-105/4 IS | 70-200/2.8 IS II | 100-400/4.5-5.6 IS
    580EX II | EF 12 II | EF 25 II

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    4,498

    Capture One LE?

    If so, how do you find it comapred to other RAW converters/RAW workflow tools? I'm thinking it's the one for me. Its the only one that I even remotely like. Only, the conversion/batch process seems really, really slow.

    I'm interested in what everyone/anyone thinks...
    Some Gear: Nikon D700; Nikkor AF-S 50 f/1.4 G; Nikkor AF-S 24-85 3.f/5-4.5 G ED; Tamron 28-300 f/3.5-6.3 VC; Nikon SB-800; Velbon Maxi-F; Canon Pixma Pro 9000; Canon S3IS, Canon SD500; Epson 4990; Epson P5000; Wacom Intuos 3

    Main Software: Capture NX2; Adobe PhotoShop CS2; Corel Paintshop Pro X2 Ultimate

    Sold: Canon XT/350D, EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro; EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5, Sigma 18-200 OS; Canon ET EF 25II; Kenko Pro 300 DG, Canon 430EX, Canon BG-E3.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by JTL
    If so, how do you find it comapred to other RAW converters/RAW workflow tools? I'm thinking it's the one for me. Its the only one that I even remotely like. Only, the conversion/batch process seems really, really slow.
    I'm interested in what everyone/anyone thinks...
    I don't know that particular program, but I'm guessing they're all slow to one degree or another if you've got a long queue of photos to process. With Silkypix I set up my batch, press the button, and go do something else until it's done. Much more productive for me than trying to interrupt the processor-intensive developing task.
    "...and only the stump, or fishy part of him remained."
    Green Gables: A Contemplative Companion to Fujino Township

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    105
    Right now I am using PS CS2, why b/c it's the only one I have right now

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Central coast NSW Australia
    Posts
    169

    PENTAX Using SILKYPIX image-processing engine

    An interesting moveThe K100D's standard software package consists of the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 3 that features the reliable SILKYPIX image-processing engine (developed by ICHIKAWA SOFT LABORATORY) for RAW data processing
    Pentax K10D Sigma18-125 f3.5-5.6 DC, Sigma 70-300 f4-5.6 APO DG Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8 EX, Sigma 50-500 EX APO DG, Vivitar Series 1 105 f2.5 Macro
    Kenko 2X Converter, Kenko Extention Tubes

  6. #66
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    292
    I've been playing with Capture NX for the last week or so. It seems pretty damn good. I suppose I'll have to pony up for a license when the 30 day trial is over. It's way faster than Capture 4, and the colour point stuff is pretty nifty.
    Nikon D200 + MBD200
    Nikkor 24mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.8, 85mm f/1.8,
    300mm f/4.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    18
    Hi, I use DPP and enjoy it. Just wondering specifically what to expect if I purchased some other RAW software.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bluedog View Post
    I'm preferring RSE @ the moment for the ability to really tweak the image details. The built in Noise Cleaner is nice for ISO 1600 images. The Canon DPP is quick but quite limited in what you can do. I prefer to get my RAW stuff as close as possible without relying too much on PSE 2.

    Phase One LE works very good too but maybe not for $59.00 ...
    Miss my old S1is & S2is....Long live the Rebellion (XT)

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    So Calif
    Posts
    3,226
    An interesting moveThe K100D's standard software package consists of the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 3 that features the reliable SILKYPIX image-processing engine (developed by ICHIKAWA SOFT LABORATORY) for RAW data processing
    Same here. I only started shooting RAW 2 weeks ago. Photo Laboratory seems capable, and is free. I only use Photshop to join pix for comparison purposes, like the one below of Richard M Nixon's childhood house. PL also can save as a DNG which is a "universal" format. Bibble has many more features, few if any I'd use.

    I sent an email to Pentax suggesting they reduce the size of the control and adjustment windows (way too much white space) so all windows can be open without overlap, and allow a larger preview window (the only sizable window). Or maybe it's my 20+" CRT at 1280 x 1024?

    Bottom test set is Bibble on left, Photo Laboratory on right, reference on top. The center image was way underexposed, hence higher grain. I only dragged the highlight triangle down a bit in each image. No other adjustments. I'm a RAW rookie :-)
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by SpecialK; 01-04-2007 at 07:30 PM.
    Pentax K20D/K5/15/21/40/70/10-17/12-24, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5/150-500, Tamron 90 Macro/70-200 2.8, Canon SX20 IS/Elph 500HS
    (formerly Pentax 50 1.4/50-200/55-300/K100D, Sigma 18-50 2.8/70-300 APO, Tamron 28-75, Viv 800, Tele-Tokina 800, Canon S3 IS, Samsung L210)
    http://s133.photobucket.com/albums/q78/KylePix/

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    I use Bibble with raws from my KM 5D and Silkypix V2SE with raws from my Panasonic DMC-LX2. Generally I use whichever gives me the best results but I find the user interface on SP to be poor.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Malcy View Post
    I use Bibble with raws from my KM 5D and Silkypix V2SE with raws from my Panasonic DMC-LX2. Generally I use whichever gives me the best results but I find the user interface on SP to be poor.
    I find the opposite. I love the Silkypix interface (with the exception of the "Engrish" transmogrification). However, in my own camera's case (Olympus E-300), Silkypix has poorer NR handling than the camera's native jpeg or Olympus Master/Studio software. That's sad, since I like so much else about SP. It's still my processor of choice for shots of ISO100-400.
    "...and only the stump, or fishy part of him remained."
    Green Gables: A Contemplative Companion to Fujino Township

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •