Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,929
    This may be a stupid question but I checked the EXIF on that image and it says its 55mm, that is not at the full zoom range! I also noticed that you used Adobe PhotoShop.. what changed did you make to the photo? I do not know much about the FZ3, I have the FZ20 but this information may help the people that do have the FZ3 better serve you. Maybe you could post some more sample images?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    11

    Problem with FZ3

    Quote Originally Posted by jcon
    This may be a stupid question but I checked the EXIF on that image and it says its 55mm, that is not at the full zoom range! I also noticed that you used Adobe PhotoShop.. what changed did you make to the photo? I do not know much about the FZ3, I have the FZ20 but this information may help the people that do have the FZ3 better serve you. Maybe you could post some more sample images?
    Thanks jcon. No, it's not a stupid question, but I don't understand why the EXIF shows it at 55m. I can assure you it was taken at full zoom. The ship was anchored 1-2 miles offshore. Adobe was used to crop the image, that's all.

    Cheers,
    Phil

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11
    Just checked my files...(40)
    They are all between 1.26 and 1.49 Mbyte.

    In the menu is the setting
    Picture-adjust...
    Natural, standard and vivid.
    I always use natural or standard.
    Never vivid.

    The settings picture quality you have the choise
    Tiff, low and high.
    I use low. (compression)

    Like i said...
    Download with explorer to pc and view them with the integrated windows-viewer.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    11

    Problem with FZ3

    Quote Originally Posted by Don
    Just checked my files...(40)
    They are all between 1.26 and 1.49 Mbyte.

    In the menu is the setting
    Picture-adjust...
    Natural, standard and vivid.
    I always use natural or standard.
    Never vivid.

    The settings picture quality you have the choise
    Tiff, low and high.
    I use low. (compression)

    Like i said...
    Download with explorer to pc and view them with the integrated windows-viewer.
    Thanks Again Don,

    I was about to download using another method but my SD card has mysteriously been wiped clean. I'm not having much luck.

    The picture adjust is set to standard and picture quality is set to fine (low compression). I've attached another shot which was also taken at full zoom, with an equally poor result. Focussing may be an issue here though.

    Appreciate all the help.

    Cheers
    Phil
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    western pa
    Posts
    2,334
    It is very hard to tell with the way its compressed to attach here.
    I must say it does look bad.
    If you want to Email an original to me I will look at it and/or post on the web so others can see the original.

    Or you could use Photobucket it will allow much better quality than this but not 100%.
    http://photobucket.com/

    Here is a link to some FZ3 photos
    http://search.pbase.com/search?q=fz3...ch+Photos&c=sp
    Last edited by genece; 04-04-2005 at 04:27 PM.
    .






    Gene
    http://grc225.zenfolio.com/
    http://imageevent.com/grc6
    one of these days I'll understand!

    Panasonic FZ20 & FZ30,FZ18
    D50 -- D80

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    western pa
    Posts
    2,334
    Boy Sure do not know what is causing that but it seems to me to be noise I ran them thru neat Image and that seemed to remove most of the marks.
    If you look at the histogram it is kind of strange and that can cause noise.
    But its over my head but go to this page and the 2 0riginals are there
    Plus the ones ran thru Neat image.
    http://imageevent.com/grc6/toshareon...=0&w=2&s=0&z=3

    Click the thumbnail and then pick the size and exif

    They are the last 4 photos


    And here is the histogram
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    .






    Gene
    http://grc225.zenfolio.com/
    http://imageevent.com/grc6
    one of these days I'll understand!

    Panasonic FZ20 & FZ30,FZ18
    D50 -- D80

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    2,635

    Full zoom on the FZ3 IS 55.2mm.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcon
    This may be a stupid question but I checked the EXIF on that image and it says its 55mm, that is not at the full zoom range! I also noticed that you used Adobe PhotoShop.. what changed did you make to the photo? I do not know much about the FZ3, I have the FZ20 but this information may help the people that do have the FZ3 better serve you. Maybe you could post some more sample images?
    The FZ3 uses the smaller lens, with a zoom range from 4.6mm to 55.2mm.
    Let a be your umbrella!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,929
    My mistake John! Thanks for clearing that up!!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    11

    Problem with FZ3

    Quote Originally Posted by genece
    Boy Sure do not know what is causing that but it seems to me to be noise I ran them thru neat Image and that seemed to remove most of the marks.
    If you look at the histogram it is kind of strange and that can cause noise.
    But its over my head but go to this page and the 2 0riginals are there
    Plus the ones ran thru Neat image.
    http://imageevent.com/grc6/toshareon...=0&w=2&s=0&z=3

    Click the thumbnail and then pick the size and exif

    They are the last 4 photos


    And here is the histogram

    Hi Genece,

    Thank you for taking time to try and sort this out for me. I don't really understand histograms nor what causes noise. However, there seems to be a marginal improvent to photo 1 when put through neat image but photo 2 still looks really bad in full size mode. I am beginning to wonder if I have a dud camera? Maybe it is is due to hazy conditions? The thing is, it works perfectly for subjects not so far away.

    I'll have to play around with it a bit more, but I am a bit disappointed at the moment.

    Thanks again for all your help.

    Cheers,
    Phil

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    western pa
    Posts
    2,334
    Just to try and see, lets change a couple settings and see if something will help.
    1. Put the camera on spot focus
    2. and center meter
    3. Turn off continuous autofocus
    4. and put the Sensitivity (ISO) on auto.
    5. OIS on mode 2.
    6. turn on the histogram in the display so you can see it.
    And take some similar shots.

    And since you say the camera does a good job on closer objects, those 2 photos look like it was very hazy when those shots were taken,
    and at 12X you magnify the haze 81/2 times. 12X is about the same as looking thru a 8 power pair of binoculars.

    here is a article that somewhat explains a histogram and in my opinion the ones in those 2 photos can miss a lot of detail.
    But I may be off base there but it would not hurt to pay attention to it for a while.
    http://www.cleanimages.com/Article-U...sHistogram.asp

    Maybe this explains differentlyhttp://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glos...stogram_01.htm


    .
    Last edited by genece; 04-05-2005 at 05:26 AM.
    .






    Gene
    http://grc225.zenfolio.com/
    http://imageevent.com/grc6
    one of these days I'll understand!

    Panasonic FZ20 & FZ30,FZ18
    D50 -- D80

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •