Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Where do I start.

I am new to the digital camera world. I like being outdoors hunting and fishing. I would like to take shots of animals I see. Do I need the 10x zoom? The animals I watch are usualy in the 100 yard range. I would like to stay in the 500 dollar range.

Do you need a long zoom?

Quote Originally Posted by Sid
    I am new to the digital camera world. I like being outdoors hunting and fishing. I would like to take shots of animals I see. Do I need the 10x zoom? The animals I watch are usualy in the 100 yard range. I would like to stay in the 500 dollar range.
    100 yards is a long way away, Steve! Yes, you'll definitely need a 10X zoom, at least. The longest available zoom for your purposes in your price range would be the Panasonic DMC-FZ10, which can be bought for ~$500 on-line. It has a stabilized Leica lens with a zoom range from 35mm to 420mm (in 35mm equivalence), and 4 megapixels of image array. So even though you may not be able to fill the frame with an animal or bird 100 yds away, you can get some reasonable photos through cropping. It's an excellent camera; I have one myself.
    Let a be your umbrella!

Thumbs up

I was beginning to worry. I filled in, the best I could, but finally gave up. Nick has been filling in for you (???).
    D7000, D70, CP990, CP900, FE.
    50mm f/1.8, Sigma 18-125, Sigma 24-70 f/2.8, Nikon 18-105 VR, Nikon 55-200 VR, Nikon 43-86 f/3.5 AiS, Vivitar 28-90 F/2.8-3.5 Macro, Vivitar 75-205 F/3.8-4.8, SB800.
    Ha! See, I can change...

http://d70fan.smugmug.com/

Smile Thanks John

I was looking at the Cannon Powershot S1 IS. I will also look at the Panasonic.

Quote Originally Posted by Sid
    I was looking at the Cannon Powershot S1 IS. I will also look at the Panasonic.