Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

What point and shoot long zoom camera should I buy?

Hi,

My name is Dennis. I am an amateur photographer and like to have my camera with me when I am out hiking or bike riding.

I have been researching 15x to 20x optical zoom compact point and shoot cameras, since my main interest is in capturing landscape and wildlife photos. I have read some expert and customer reviews, but have still not decided which camera is best for me.

I am more interested in a small camera I can take out of my shirt or pants pocket quickly to shoot photos. I would not mind having a camera with some manual functionality, but that is not a qualifying factor at this stage for me. I want consistently good photo quality and a point and shoot that performs well in low light situations. I would also like to be able to shoot an occasional video and would prefer a 1080 HD video system with good audio.

The features I am interested in are:

- 15x-20x optical zoom
    - 12-16 Megapixel
    - Good Image Stabilization, or best available for a long zoom point and shoot camera
    - Takes good photos in low light situations
    - Good night scene photo quality
    - Relatively easy to use
    - 1080 HD with good audio

I have developed a short list of cameras that caught my attention. However, every camera seems has its pros and cons. So, if your feedback does not cover any of the cameras listed below, so be it. Of course any other recommendations are very welcome.

-Nikon S9300
    -Sony Cybershot HX9V
    -Canon SX260
    -Fuji Fine Pix P770 EXR

My budget is between $275 to $400.

It is my understanding that the Nikon, Sony, and Canon all have pretty good picture quality and video-audio. The Fuji EXR series has gotten pretty good reviews for picture quality, but not so good reviews for video quality.